Webster County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Webster County
 

Guide to Webster County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Red Cloud
Organized: February 16, 1867
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adams  • Clay  • Franklin  • Jewell (KS)  • Kearney  • Nuckolls  • Smith (KS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Webster County Nebraska Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Webster County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

Webster County is located in the on the southern border of the state. The county was formed 16 February 1867 and fully organized in 19 April 1871. The county was named after the statesman Daniel Webster.[2]

County Courthouse

Webster County Courthouse
621 N. Cedar Street
Red Cloud, NE 68970
Phone: 402.746.2716
Webster County Website

County Clerk has marriage, land, divorce, probate and court records from 1871 and naturalization records from 1874.[1]

Webster County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1872 1872 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Webster County, Nebraska:[4]

Cities

Blue Hill Red Cloud

Villages

  • Bladen
  • Cowles
  • Guide Rock

Unincorporated communities

Amboy Rosemont

Census-designated place

  • Inavale

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Webster County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 16
1880 7,104 44300.0%
1890 11,210 57.8%
1900 11,619 3.6%
1910 12,008 3.3%
1920 10,922 −9.0%
1930 10,210 −6.5%
1940 8,701 −14.8%
1950 7,395 −15.0%
1960 6,224 −15.8%
1970 5,396 −13.3%
1980 4,858 −10.0%
1990 4,279 −11.9%
2000 4,061 −5.1%
2010 3,812 −6.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Webster County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Webster County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Newebster.png

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Webster - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Auld Public Library
    P.O. Box 287
    Red Cloud, NE 68970-0287
    Phone: 402-746-3352
    Fax: 402-746-3352
    Email: rclibr@hotmail.com
    Director: Terri Eberly
  • Blue Hill Public Library
    317 West Gage St
    PO Box 278
    Blue Hill, NE 68930-0278
    Phone: 402-756-2701
    Fax: 402-756-2702
    Email: bluehillpubliclibrary@gmail.com
    Director: Shari Alber
  • Auld Doudna Public Library
    155 W Grant
    Guide Rock, NE 68942
    Phone: 402-257-4015

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Webster County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_Nebraska, accessed 2 August 2016.