To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wayne County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Goldsboro
Organized: 1779
Parent County(s): Dobbs[1]
Neighboring Counties
Duplin  • Greene  • Johnston  • Lenoir  • Sampson  • Wilson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Wayne County Courthouse, North Carolina.jpg
Location Map
Nc-wayne.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Anthony Wayne

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Wayne County is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[2] It is located in the east central area of the state.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Wayne County Courthouse
215 S William Street
PO Box 267
Goldsboro, NC 27530-4824
Phone: 919-731-1449
Wayne County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records.[3]

Wayne County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1790 1913 1782 1780 1776 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1781 Fire burned courthouse, small record loss.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1779 Wayne County was created from Dobbs County. Dobbs County was abolished in 1791.
  • County seat: Goldsboro[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Wayne County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Wayne County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Black Creek. Established by 1783.[6]
  • Falling Creek. Constituted 1778.[6]
  • Naughunty. Constituted 1791.[6][7]
  • Norhunty Swamp. Constituted 1789.[6]
  • Pleasant Plains. Established by 1808.[7]

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Goldsboro
  • Mount Olive

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

NC Wayne

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 2nd Company C
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain James M Garner's Company
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 4th Company

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Wayne County:

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Wayne County Historical Association
    116 N William Street
    Goldsboro, NC 27530
  • Old Dobbs County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 617
    Goldsboro, NC 27533
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490-491; 2:569. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.