Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Wayne County

Guide to Wayne County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Monticello
Organized: December 18, 1800
Parent County(s): Cumberland, Pulaski[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clinton  • McCreary  • Pickett (TN)  • Pulaski  • Russell  • Scott (TN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Wayne County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ky-wayne.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Anthony Wayne.JPG

The County was named for Anthony Wayne. The County has Monticello as its seat and the County was created 1766. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Wayne County Courthouse
109 N Main Street
Monticello, KY 42633
Phone: 606-348-5721[3]
Wayne County Website

Wayne County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1801 1852 1800 1801 1810
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

1898--A disaster destroyed most of the records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1800--Wayne County was created 18 December 1800 from Cumberland and Pulaski Counties.
  • County seat: Monticello[4]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Wayne County, Kentucky:

  • Barrier
  • Bethesda
  • Betsey
  • Burfield
  • Cabell
  • Cooper
  • Coopersville
  • Delta
  • Denney
  • Eadsville
  • Frazer
  • Frisby
  • Gapcreek
  • Gar (hist.)
  • Gregory
  • Griffin
  • Hardwick
  • Hidalgo
  • Jimtown
  • Kidder
  • Kidds Crossing
  • Low Gap
  • Mill Springs
  • Monticello
  • Mount Pisgah
  • Murl
  • Number One
  • Oil Valley
  • Oilton
  • Parmleysville
  • Parnell
  • Powersburg
  • Pueblo
  • Ramsey Island
  • Rankin
  • Ritner
  • Rockybranch
  • Sandclift

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wayne, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Wayne county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 5,430
1820 7,951 46.4%
1830 8,685 9.2%
1840 7,399 −14.8%
1850 8,692 17.5%
1860 10,259 18.0%
1870 10,602 3.3%
1880 12,512 18.0%
1890 12,852 2.7%
1900 14,892 15.9%
1910 17,518 17.6%
1920 16,208 −7.5%
1930 15,848 −2.2%
1940 17,204 8.6%
1950 16,475 −4.2%
1960 14,700 −10.8%
1970 14,268 −2.9%
1980 17,022 19.3%
1990 17,468 2.6%
2000 19,923 14.1%
2010 20,813 4.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Wayne County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Burnett] Peterson, Dorothy Burnett. Blue Ridge Heritage; Burnett, Branscome, Hylton, Cox, Slaughter and Related Families. Memphis, Tenn.: Roblee Press, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 B934p.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • 1800-1811 Deed Book A: 1800-1811 -Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Wayne County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee.
  • 1811-1822 Deed Book B: 1811-1822 - Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Wayne County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee.
  • The KY Land Office

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Russell CountyPulaski CountyMcCreary CountyClinton CountyPickett CountyScott CountyKY WAYNE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Wayne County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company H

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Wayne County:

  • January 19, 1862 - Mill Springs, also known as Logan's Cross-Roads or Fishing Creek[5]
    Map showing Civil War battles in Kentucky.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Wayne County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Wayne County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Wayne County Historical Museum
    75 N Main St.
    Monticello, KY 42633
    Telephone: 606-340-2300
    Website

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August, 2012)
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Wayne_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3292311"