Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wayne County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Wayne County

Guide to Wayne County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wayne County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1800
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representatives
Wayne Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Wayne County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Land
Probate
1852
1801
1852
1810
1800
1801
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Wayne County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg
Wayne County Courthouse
109 N Main Street
Monticello, KY 42633[1]

Wayne County Kentucky History

Anthony Wayne.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[2]

Parent County

1800--Wayne County was created 18 December 1800 from Cumberland and Pulaski Counties.
County seat: Monticello [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1898--A disaster destroyed most of the records.

Wayne County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Barrier Gregory Oilton Spann
Bethesda Griffin Parmleysville Steubenville
Betsey Hardwick Parnell Stop (hist.)
Burfield Hidalgo Powersburg Sumpter
Cabell Jimtown Pueblo Sunnybrook
Cooper Kidder Ramsey Island Susie
Coopersville Kidds Crossing Rankin Swifton
Delta Low Gap Ritner Touristville
Denney Mill Springs Rockybranch Wait
Eadsville Monticello Sandclift Windy
Frazer Mount Pisgah Shearer Valley Wray Gap
Frisby Murl Short Mountain Zula
Gapcreek Number One Slat
Gar (hist.) Oil Valley Slickford

Neighboring Counties

Wayne County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kywayne.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research. 

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wayne, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Wayne county cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 5,430
1820 7,951 46.4%
1830 8,685 9.2%
1840 7,399 −14.8%
1850 8,692 17.5%
1860 10,259 18.0%
1870 10,602 3.3%
1880 12,512 18.0%
1890 12,852 2.7%
1900 14,892 15.9%
1910 17,518 17.6%
1920 16,208 −7.5%
1930 15,848 −2.2%
1940 17,204 8.6%
1950 16,475 −4.2%
1960 14,700 −10.8%
1970 14,268 −2.9%
1980 17,022 19.3%
1990 17,468 2.6%
2000 19,923 14.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Wayne County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • [Burnett] Peterson, Dorothy Burnett. Blue Ridge Heritage; Burnett, Branscome, Hylton, Cox, Slaughter and Related Families. Memphis, Tenn.: Roblee Press, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 B934p.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Wayne County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Deed Book A: 1800-1811
  2. Deed Book B: 1811-1822

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records


Regiments. Service men in Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company H


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Wayne County:

  • January 19, 1862 = Mill Springs, also known as Logan's Cross-Roads or Fishing Creek[5]
Map showing Civil War battles in Kentucky.
World War I
Korean War

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries



Probate

Probate records are held by the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Wayne County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Will Book 1: 1802-1807
  2. Will Book B: 1814-1835
  3. Will Book A: 1836-1909

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Wayne County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth


Marriage
Death
Divorce
  • 1973-1993 - KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases

Wayne County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Wayne County Historical Society
PO Box 320
Monticello KY 42633
Website

Wayne County Historical Museum
75 N Main St.
Monticello, KY 42633
Telephone: 606-340-2300
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Wayne County Kentucky Genealogy Websites


Wayne County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Kentucky page 275, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Wayne.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August, 2012)
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.