To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wayne County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wayne County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1846
County Seat Corydon
Courthouse
IowaWayneCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Anthony Wayne. The County has Corydon as its seat and the County was created 1846. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[1]

Wayne County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1851 1880 1875 1851 1891 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Anthony Wayne

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[3]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1846--Wayne County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Davis County prior to organization 27 January 1851. County seat:  Corydon [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Appanoose • Clarke • Decatur • Lucas • Monroe • Mercer County, Missouri • Putnam County, Missouri

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Pioneer cemeteries being restored, 2014.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Bethlehem

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Biographical and Historical Record of Wayne and Appanoose Counties, Iowa 
  • Biographical and historical record of Wayne and Appanoose counties, Iowa : containing a condensed history of the state of Iowa, portraits and biographies of the governors, personal histories of many of the leading families. Chicago, Illinois : Inter-State, 1886. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Internet Archive, HathiTrust.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Clarke CountyLucas CountyMonroe CountyAppanoose CountyDecatur CountyMercer CountyPutnam CountyIA WAYNE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Wayne - Probate records.


School[edit | edit source]

A large collection of school records are held by the Prairie Trails Museum, Wayne County Historical Society, Haighway 2 East, Post Office Box 104, Corydon 50060-0104; http://www.prairietrailsmuseum.org

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Wayne County Genealogical Society
304 North Franklin
Corydon IA 50060-1330

Wayne County Historical Society
P. O. Box 104
Corydon, Iowa 50060
Website

Prairie Trails Museum of Wayne County and Historical and Genealogical Library
515 East Jefferson Street (Route #2)
Corydon, Iowa 50060
See it's collections and resources for local and family history research.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).