To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wayne County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wayne County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wayne County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 27, 1810
County Seat Richmond
Courthouse
Address Wayne County Courthouse
301 E Main
Richmond, IN 47374
Phone: 765.973.9220
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1810 1882 1873 1816 1818 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed 27 November 1810 from Clark and Dearborn Counties.
  • County seat:Richmond [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Anthony Wayne.JPG

The county was named for Gen. "Mad" Anthony Wayne, who was an officer during the Revolutionary War. Wayne is mainly remembered for his service in the 1790s in the Northwest Indian War, which included many actions in Indiana and Ohio. The county seat is Richmond and the county was organized on 1811. The County is located in the East Central part of the state.[3]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Randolph  • Henry  • Fayette  • Union  • Preble • (Ohio) Darke (Ohio)


The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence Linkpendium

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


Lutheran[edit | edit source]
  • Records of St. John Lutheran Church, Richmond, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


History[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Young, Andrew W. (Andrew White), 1802-1877. History of Wayne County, Indiana, from Its First Settlement to the Present Time: with Numerous Biographical and Family Sketches. 2007 977.263 H2y FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries
  • History of Wayne County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens. History of Indiana and the Northwest Territory: Embracing Accounts of the Pre-Historic Races, Aborigines, Winnebago and Black Hawk Wars, and a Brief Review of Its Civil, Political and Military History. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.), Vol. 1 Google Books, Vol. 2 Google Books, FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Fox, Henry Clay. Memoirs of Wayne County and the City of Richmond, Indiana: From the Earliest Historical Times Down to the Present, Including a Genealogical and Biographical Record of Representative Families in Wayne County. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.), FHL Collection, Google Books, Hathi Trust

Maps[edit | edit source]

Randolph CountyUnion CountyFayette CountyHenry CountyPreble CountyDarke CountyIN WAYNE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County.

Civil War Books

  • "War History" in Young, Andrew W. (Andrew White), 1802-1877. History of Wayne County, Indiana, from Its First Settlement to the Present Time: with Numerous Biographical and Family Sketches. 2007, (126-137 no Regiment or Companies) 977.263 H2y FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, FamilySearch Digital Library
  • "Military Matters" Chapter 14 in Fox, Henry Clay. Memoirs of Wayne County and the City of Richmond, Indiana: From the Earliest Historical Times Down to the Present, Including a Genealogical and Biographical Record of Representative Families in Wayne County. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.), (page 215-230, no Regiment or Companies), FHL Collection, Google Books, Hathi Trust

Pension Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Wayne County Courthouse
301 E Main
Richmond, IN 47374
Phone: 765.973.9220

County Clerk has marriage records from 1810, divorce and court records from 1873 and probate records from 1818. City-County Health Officer has birth, death and burial records. [4]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records[edit source]

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_County,_Indiana accessed 04/05/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.