Wawne, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wawne, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  

Wawne, Yorkshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Beverly
Registration District Beverley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WAGHEN, or Wawne (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Beverley, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, East Riding of York; containing 362 inhabitants, of whom 267 are in the township, 4 miles SE by E from Beverley. This parish, including the hamlet of Meux or Meaux, comprises 5600 acres. [1]

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

Wawne is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.
Other places in the parish include:

  • Melsa
  • Meaux

Wawne Parish Records begin 1653; Bishops Transcripts in 1598

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Wawne include:

  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Wawne Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-East Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-East Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-East Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600-1800s
-
Find My Past Banns-East Riding ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-East Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds-East Riding ($)
-
-
Archdeaconry of Richmond, England, Church of England Marriage Bonds, 1611-1861 1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1700s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 429-432. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.