Waukesha County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Waukesha County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Waukesha County


Guide to Waukesha County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Waukesha
Organized: January 31, 1846
Parent County(s): Milwaukee County.[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dodge  • Jefferson  • Milwaukee  • Ozaukee  • Racine  • Walworth  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
Waukesha Courthouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Waukesha.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Potawatomi word for 'fox' because the streams in the lower part of the county drain into the Fox River. The County has Waukesha, Wisconsin as its seat and the County was created 1846. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Waukesha County Courthouse
515 W. Moreland Boulevard
Waukesha, WI 53188
Phone: 262-896-8525
Waukesha County Website

Vital records were not required until 1907. Before that time some civil records are available according to the dates below:
Births are available circa 1860 - present; death records are available circa 1872 - present; marriage records are available circa 1846 - present.
Records prior to 1846 may be found in Milwaukee County.

Waukesha County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1860 1846 1879 1962 1841 1846 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1846--Waukesha County was created 31 January 1846 from Milwaukee County.
  • County seat: Waukesha, WI[4]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Waukesha County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • 1880 Biographical Index: History Of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, 1880 - USGenWeb Archives
  • 1894 Biographical Index: Portrait And Biographical Record Of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, 1894 - USGenWeb Archives
  • 1907 Biographical Index: Memoirs Of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, 1907 - USGenWeb Archives

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Waukesha County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 19,258
1860 26,831 39.3%
1870 28,274 5.4%
1880 28,957 2.4%
1890 33,270 14.9%
1900 35,229 5.9%
1910 37,100 5.3%
1920 42,612 14.9%
1930 52,358 22.9%
1940 62,744 19.8%
1950 85,901 36.9%
1960 158,249 84.2%
1970 231,365 46.2%
1980 280,326 21.2%
1990 304,715 8.7%
2000 360,767 18.4%
2010 389,891 8.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Waukesha census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Dr. Martin Luther Lutheran Church, Oconomowoc

  • Records of Dr. Martin Luther Lutheran Church, Oconomowoc, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. John's (Pine Lake) Lutheran Church, Oconomowoc

  • Records of St. John's (Pine Lake) Lutheran Church, Oconomowoc, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

  • The History of Waukesha County, Wisconsin. Chicago : Western Historical Company. Online at: Internet Archive.

Maps and Gazetteers

WI WAUKESHA.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Waukesha served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Waukesha:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company D
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies F and G
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company C
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Waukesha Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Waukesha Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
    Milwaukee, Division of Archives and Special Collections
    Golda Meir Library, Room W250
    2311 East Hartford Avenue
    PO Box 604
    Milwaukee, WI 53201-0604
    Phone: 414-229-5402
    Email: askarch@uwm.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Golda Meir Library - University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    Area Research Center, Milwaukee, Division of Archives and Special Collections
    Golda Meir Library, Room W250
    2311 East Hartford Avenue
    PO Box 604
    Milwaukee, WI 53201-0604
    Phone: 414-229-5402
    Email: askarch@uwm.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Waukesha County Historical Society
    101 W Main St
    Waukesha, WI 53186-4811
  • Waukesha County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 1541
    Waukesha, WI 53187-1541
    Website
  • Big Bend-Vernon Historical Society
    PO Box 68
    Big Bend, WI 53103-0068
    Phone: 262-662-3082
  • Elmbrook Historical Society
    PO Box 292
    Brookfield, WI 53008-0292
    Phone: 262-783-6494
    Website
  • Genesee Heritage Society
    PO Box 52
    Genesee Depot, WI 53127-0052
    Phone: 262-549-3239
  • Hartland Historical Society
    PO Box 54
    Hartland, WI 53029
    Phone: 262-367-2979
    Website
  • Hawks Inn Historical Society
    426 Wells St
    Delafield, WI 53018-141
    Website
  • Sussex-Lisbon Area Historical Society, Inc. and Fred H. Keller History Museum
    N64 W23760 Main St., Suite 240
    Sussex, WI 53089
    Mailing address:
    P. O. Box 32
    Sussex, WI 53089-0032
    Phone: Contact Fred Keller, 262-246-3603; or Mike Reilly, 414-530-3121
    Email: slahsinc@yahoo.com
    SLAHS Website and Kelly History Museum Website
  • Menomonee Falls Historical Society
    PO Box 91
    Menomonee Falls, WI 53052-0091
    Phone: 262-255-1776
    Website
  • Muskego Historical Society
    PO Box 137
    Muskego, WI 53150
    Phone: 262-895-7255
    Website
  • New Berlin Historical Society
    5575 S Maberry Ln
    New Berlin, WI 53146
    Phone: 262-679-1783
    Website
  • Oconomowoc Historical Society
    103 W Jefferson St
    Oconomowoc, WI 53066-0969
    Phone: 262-567-5272
    Website
  • Pewaukee Area Historical Society
    PO Box 104
    Pewaukee, WI 53072
    Phone: 262-691-0233
    Website
  • Waukesha Engine Historical Society
    1000 W St Paul Ave
    Waukesha, WI 53188
    Phone: 262-549-2606

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Waukesha County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waukesha_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waukesha County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.