Washtenaw County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washtenaw County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Ann Arbor
Organized: December 31, 1826
Parent County(s): Wayne, Oakland[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ingham  • Jackson  • Lenawee  • Livingston  • Monroe  • Oakland  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
Michigan, Washtenaw County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Michigan, Washtenaw County Locator Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Washtenaw is a variant of the Ojibwa word: "Wash-ten-ong," meaning what is now called the "Grand River". The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washtenaw County Courthouse
200 N Main Street, Suite 120
P. O. Box 8645
Ann Arbor, MI 48107-8645
Phone: 734-222-6700
Washtenaw County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1867, divorce, court and land records, naturalization records and supervisors records from 1835. [3]

A Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County volunteer is at Vital Records Office every Thursday (except holidays) between 10 a.m.-2 p.m. to assist people using death and marriage records.

Washtenaw County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1835 1835 1837 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information
Washtenaw County is directly west of Detroit, and is situated on the old 'Chicago Road' which today is US Highway 12. One of the first things that took place after the town of Ann Arbor was formed was to start the University of Michigan, which is today one of the largest in the United States. It contains a significant collection of historical documents in its library given the nearly 200 years it has been in existence, having been formed in the 1820s.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washtenaw County, Michigan online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 4,042
1840 23,571 483.2%
1850 28,567 21.2%
1860 35,686 24.9%
1870 41,434 16.1%
1880 41,848 1.0%
1890 42,210 0.9%
1900 47,761 13.2%
1910 44,714 −6.4%
1920 49,520 10.7%
1930 65,530 32.3%
1940 80,810 23.3%
1950 134,606 66.6%
1960 172,440 28.1%
1970 234,103 35.8%
1980 264,748 13.1%
1990 282,937 6.9%
2000 322,895 14.1%
2010 344,791 6.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Federal Census

State Census

  • 1894 - Michigan Department of State. Census of the State of Michigan, 1894. Vol 3. Lansing, MI: R. Smith & co., state printers, 1896. (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Ann Arbor

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

American Indian[edit | edit source]

The Indians of Washtenaw County, Michigan. By Wilbert B. Hinsdale. FHL| 45162 | FHL book 970.1 H596i WorldCat

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Washtenaw County courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Self Service Washtenaw County Clerk/Register of Deeds
    200 North Main Street, Suite 110
    Ann Arbor, MI 48107
    Phone: 734-222-6710
    website
Historical Indexes for Grantor and Grantee names for documents recorded between 1824 - 1968.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Washtenaw County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ingham CountyLivingston CountyOakland CountyJackson CountyWayne CountyMonroe CountyLenawee CountyMI WASHTENAW.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Washtenaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Washtenaw County.

-1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Company E
-14th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company H
-17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies B and E

Online Indexes and Records

Spanish American War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Older probate records are located at the Archives of Michigan in Lansing.Website

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
  • Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Ann Arbor Michigan Family History Center
525 E Woodland Drive
Saline, MI 48176
Phone: 734-944-4789
E-mail:MI_AnnArbor@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Bentley Historical Library, University of Michigan
    1150 Beal Avenue
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109
    Phone: 734-764-3482
    website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County, Michigan, Inc.
PO Box 7155
Ann Arbor, MI 48107-7155
E-mail:info@washtenawgenealogy.org
Website

Washtenaw County Historical Society
PO Box 3336
Ann Arbor MI 48106-3336
Phone: 734-662-9092
website Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Washtenaw County, Georgia" in wikipedia accessed 8 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, " Washtenaw County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 16 November 2019.