Washington Directories

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Washington Wiki Topics
Washington flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Washington Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Washington is AdkinsWH

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Directories have been published for various Alabama cities and counties since the early 1800s, though they may not be available for every year. Some directories focus on the businesses or occupations of an area, others include heads of households, landowners, and voters.

City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually. They list heads of households and employed household members with their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.

Resources for Washington Directories[edit | edit source]

Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]

Directories Online[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Washington including:

Seattle

Various years from 1872 - 1981 Seattle City Directories

Spokane

Various years from 1889 - 1985 Spokane City Directories

Tacoma

Various years from 1889 - 1935 Tacoma City Directories

To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

WASHINGTON, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
WASHINGTON, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES

Websites[edit | edit source]