Washington County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Washington County
 

Guide to Washington County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Bartlesville
Organized: 1897
Parent County(s): Cherokee Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chautauqua (KS)  • Montgomery (KS)  • Nowata  • Osage  • Rogers  • Tulsa
See County Maps
Courthouse
OklahomaWashingtonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-washington.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Washington County is a county located in the northeastern part of the of Oklahoma. Its county seat is Bartlesville. Washington County was named for George Washington. Founded 1907. [2]

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
420 S. Johnstone Ave.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma 74003-6602
Phone: 918.337.2840
Washington County Website

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

Washington County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1907 1900 1907 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Washington County, Oklahoma:[3]

  • Bartlesville (county seat)
  • Copan
  • Dewey
  • Ochelata
  • Ramona
  • Vera

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Washington County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 17,484
1920 27,002 54.4%
1930 2,777 −89.7%
1940 30,559 1000.4%
1950 32,880 7.6%
1960 42,347 28.8%
1970 42,277 −0.2%
1980 48,113 13.8%
1990 48,066 −0.1%
2000 48,996 1.9%
2010 50,976 4.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Washington County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Bartlesville

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps and Gazetteers

Chautauqua CountyMontgomery CountyOsage CountyNowata CountyRogers CountyTulsa CountyOK WASHINGTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Washington - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Washington County Historical Society
801 N. Delaware Avenue
Dewey, Oklahoma 74029
Telephone: 918-534-0215
E-mail:info@wchs-ok.org
Website

Bartlesville Genealogical Society
c/o Bartlesville Public Library
600 S. Johnstone Ave.
Bartlesville, OK 74003
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.