Washington County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Washington County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 29 January, 1827
County Seat Greenville
Courthouse
MississippiWashingtonCourthouse.jpg
Address Washington County Courthouse]
PO Box 309;
Greenville, MS 38701;
Phone: 662.332.1595
Washington County Courthouse


County Information

Washington County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Washington County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1891

1830
1828
1839

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
PO Box 309;
Greenville, MS 38701;
Phone: 662.332.1595

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1858 and court records from 1890. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records from 1856, probate and land records from 1831. [1]

History

Parent County

1827--Washington County was created 29 January 1827 from Warren and Yazoo Counties.
County seat: Greenville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MSGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MSGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MSInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Washington County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Records


Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.