Washington County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washington County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Stillwater[1]
Organized: October 27, 1849[2]
Parent County(s): Unorganized territory[3]
Neighboring Counties
Anoka  • Chisago  • Dakota  • Pierce (WI)  • Polk (WI)  • Ramsey  • St. Croix (WI)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Washington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Washington County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for George Washington. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washington County Courthouse
14949-62nd St N
Stillwater, MN 55082
Phone: 651-430-6263
Washington County Website

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870, marriage records from 1845, divorce and court records from 1847 and probate records from 1850.[5]

Washington County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1845 1870 1847 1856 1850 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washington County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 1,056
1860 6,123 479.8%
1870 11,809 92.9%
1880 19,563 65.7%
1890 25,992 32.9%
1900 27,808 7.0%
1910 26,013 −6.5%
1920 23,761 −8.7%
1930 24,753 4.2%
1940 26,430 6.8%
1950 34,544 30.7%
1960 52,432 51.8%
1970 83,003 58.3%
1980 113,571 36.8%
1990 145,896 28.5%
2000 201,130 37.9%
2010 238,136 18.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran
1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry ($)

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Washington County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Chisago CountyAnoka CountyRamsey CountyDakota CountyPolk CountySt. Croix CountyPierce CountyMN WASHINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men from Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Washington County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company K.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B and F.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Washington County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

  • Historical Records Survey (Minnesota), Works Progress Administration Inventory of the county archives of Minnesota, no. 82, Washington County (Stillwater). 1938. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Washington County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Washington County Library Administration
8595 Central Park Pl
Woodbury, MN 55125
651-275-8500
Website

Stillwater Public Library
224 Third St N
Stillwater, MN 55082
651-275-4338
Email: splinfo@ci.stillwater.mn.us
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Washington County Historical Society Museums & Research Center
PO Box 167
Stillwater, MN 55082
651-439-5956
E-mail: information@wchsmn.org
Elder School House
Haylake School and Erickson Log Home
Warden’s House Museum
Website

Afton Historical Museum
3165 St Croix Trail S
Afton, MN 55001
651-436-3500
Email: stan@rossdesigninc.com
Website

Stone House Museum
241 5th Street
Marine on Saint Croix, MN 55047
651-433-3636
Email: jdeagleton@excite.com
Website

Woodbury Heritage House and Garden
8025 Lake Road
Woodbury, MN 55125
651-714-3564
Email: heritagesociety@ci.woodbury.MN.us
Facebook

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Washington County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Afton Historical Society
3165 St Croix Trail S
PO Box 178
Afton, MN 55001
651-436-3500
Email: stan@rossdesigninc.com
Website

Washington County Historical Society
PO Box 167
602 N Main St
Stillwater MN 55082-0167
651-439-5956
E-mail: information@wchsmn.org
Website

South Washington Heritage Society
1221 Summit Ave
St Paul Park, MN 55071-1445
Website

Denmark Township Historical Society
14008 90th Street S
Hastings, MN 55033
612-616-2519
Email: valdavan@msn.com
Website

Hugo Historical Commission
14669 Fitzgerald Ave N
Hugo, MN 55038
651-762-6300
Website

Marine Historical Society
241 5th Street
Marine on Saint Croix, MN 55047
651-433-3636
Email: jdeagleton@excite.com
Facebook

Marine Restoration Society
PO Box 131
Marine on Saint Croix, MN 55047
Email: marinerestosociety@gmail.com
Facebook

Woodbury Heritage Society
8301 Valley Creek Rd
Woodbury, MN 55125
651-714-3564
Email: heritagesociety@ci.woodbury.MN.us
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 3/10/21.
  3. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 3/10/21.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Minnesota accessed 15 Nov 2018
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 4 March 2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 4 March 2021.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Minnesota, accessed 3 March 2020.