Washington County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Minnesota
Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Washington County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 27, 1849
County Seat Stillwater
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse
14949-62nd St N;
Stillwater, MN 55082
Phone:. 651.430.6000
Washington County Website


County Information

Washington County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1843 1870 1850 1856 1849

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1845, divorce and court records
from 1847 and probate records from 1850. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1849--Washington County was created 27 October 1849 from St. Croix County in  Wisconsin Territory.

County seat: Stillwater [3]

  • For a brief history of how Washington County was named, click here, then select Washington County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Lake Elmo

  • Records of the St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Lake Elmo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Washington County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Washington County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Washington – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnwashington.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Washington County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company K.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B and F.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Afton Historical Society
3165 St. Croix Trail South
PO Box 178
Afton, MN 55001
Telephone: 651-436-3500
Website

Washington County Historical Society
PO Box 167
602 North Main St
Stillwater MN 55082-0167
Telephone: 651-439-5956
Website

South Washington Heritage Society
1221 Summit Ave.
St. Paul Park, MN 55071-1445
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Minnesota page 369, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.