Washington County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Washington County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Springfield
Organized: June 22, 1792
Parent County(s): Nelson [1]
Neighboring Counties
Anderson  • Boyle  • Marion  • Mercer  • Nelson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Washington County Courthouse, Springfield, KY
Location Map
Ky-washington.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for George Washington. The County has Springfield as its seat and the County was created 1792. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
PO Box 446
Springfield, KY 40069-0446
Phone: 859-336-5425[3]
Washington County Website

Washington County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1792 1852 1792 1792 1792 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1795, 1814-- Disasters destroyed most of the records in the courthouse.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1792--Washington County was created 22 June 1792 from Nelson County.
  • County seat: Springfield[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Jenkinsville
  • Jimtown
  • Litsey
  • Manton
  • Maud
  • Monfort (hist.)
  • Mooresville
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Polin
  • Pottsville
  • Pulliam
  • Rineltown
  • Saint Catharine
  • Seaville
  • Sharpsville
  • Simstown
  • Tablow
  • Tatham Springs
  • Texas
  • Thompsonville
  • Valley Hill


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Washington, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Washington county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 9,050
1810 13,248 46.4%
1820 15,947 20.4%
1830 19,017 19.3%
1840 10,596 −44.3%
1850 12,194 15.1%
1860 11,575 −5.1%
1870 12,464 7.7%
1880 14,419 15.7%
1890 13,622 −5.5%
1900 14,182 4.1%
1910 13,940 −1.7%
1920 14,773 6.0%
1930 12,623 −14.6%
1940 12,965 2.7%
1950 12,777 −1.5%
1960 11,168 −12.6%
1970 10,728 −3.9%
1980 10,764 0.3%
1990 10,441 −3.0%
2000 10,916 4.5%
2010 11,717 7.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Washington County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Barlow] Rutherford, Dolores Crumrine. Abstracts of Virginia Families: Vol. 1. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1597677 Item 12
  • [Craven] Craven, Patricia. The Craven Clan of Southwestern Pennsylvania and Various Kentucky Counties Nelson, Washington, Marion, Boone, Fayette, Jessamine, Henry. Chicago, Ill.: P. Craven, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 C855cr
  • [Gootee] Lundergan, Gene. Family Histories of the Lundergan-Norris and Related Families of Daviess County, Indiana. Typescript. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Film 1255703.
  • [Graham] Sinclair, Thomas Graham. The William Graham and Harriet Froman Family of Carroll County, Missouri. Palm Desert, Calif.: T.G. Sinclair, 2003. Family History Archive.
  • [Gregory] Gregory and Related Lines. MSS. Microfilmed 1987: FHL Film 1509499 Item 8.
  • [Hardin] Hardin, John J. Hardin Family Papers. MSS., Chicago Historical Society. Microfilmed 1959: FHL Films 421996-422013.
  • [Hatton] Carvin, Joseph Franklin. The Family of Wiley G. and Nancy Hatton. Columbus, Ohio: J.F. and M.A. Carvin, c1984. Digital version at Family History Archives; FHL Film 1697852 Item 12.
  • [Lincoln] Hatcher, Patricia Law. "The Real Thomas Lincoln of Cumberland County, Kentucky: Not the Father of the President," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):254-261. FHL Book 973 D25aga.
  • [Peter] McDonald, Frank V. Supplement No. 1 to Edition B of the MacDonald Genealogy, Containing Records of the Descendants of Jesse Peter: One of the Pioneer Settlers Near Mackville, Washington County, Kentucky: Together with a Few Remarks on the Early History of the Peter family, and Whatever Other Knowledge of Value Concerning This Branch of the Name Could Be Collected Up to Feb. 25, 1880. Cambridge: John Wilson and Son, University Press, 1880. FHL Film 1429852 Item 26.
  • [Rakes] Tungate, Paul. The John Rakes Families of Marion Co., KY. Cincinnati, Ohio: P. Tungate, 1995. Family History Archive.
  • [Rowland] Petersen, Carol Rowland. Descendants of John Rowland, Son of William Rowland: (Botetourt Co., Va.). Belton, Mo.: C.R. Petersen, 1999. Digital version at Family History Archive.
  • [Slack] Slack, Mary Louise McCarthy. The Slack Family, 1753-1981. Cullman, Ala.: M.M. Slack, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 SL11sm.
  • [Taylor] Tompkins, Joyce L. and Marjorie Dorn. Taylor, Lovell, and Related Names. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1674173 Item 11.
  • [Thomas] A Line of a Thomas Family in Pike County, Indiana. Typescript. Family Records Collection, Barrett Memorial Library (Petersburg, Indiana). Thom. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Film 1451835 Item 1.
  • [Thurman] Thurman, David Livingston. History of the Thurman Family. Typescript. Microfilmed 1978: FHL Film 1036650 Item 8.
  • [Warner] Reynolds, Lyman Foster. Peter Warner Born Maryland - Fredrick County: Revolutionary War Soldier (with George Washington in Capture of Trenton) to Lincoln County Kentucky 1780's, Children Settled in Kentucky; Lincoln, Garrard, Boyle, Mercer & Washington Counties; Indiana Putnam County. Louisville, Ky.: L.F. Reynolds, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 W246r

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Spencer CountyAnderson CountyMercer CountyBoyle CountyMarion CountyNelson CountyKY WASHINGTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Washington County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Washington County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Washington County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Washington County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Kentucky, accessed 14 September 2018.
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Washington_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3372839"