Washington County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Washington
Organized: February 20, 1857
Parent County(s): unorganized territory [1]
Neighboring Counties
Clay  • Cloud  • Gage (NE)  • Jefferson (NE)  • Marshall  • Republic  • Riley  • Thayer (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasWashingtonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Washington County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for George Washington. The County has Washington as its seat and the County was created February 20, 1857. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
214 C Street
Sharon Springs, Kansas 66968-1928
Phone: 785.325.2974
Washington County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1887-1911.
Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1868, divorce, probate and court records from 1873 and naturalization records 1870-1938.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

Washington County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1868 1887 1873 1860 1873 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[4]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Washington County, Kansas:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Barnes
  • Brantford
  • Charleston
  • Clifton
  • Coleman
  • Farmington
  • Franklin
  • Grant
  • Greenleaf
  • Haddam
  • Hanover
  • Highland
  • Independence
  • Kimeo
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Little Blue
  • Logan
  • Lowe
  • Mill Creek
  • Sheridan
  • Sherman
  • Strawberry
  • Union
  • Washington


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Washington County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 383
1870 4,081 965.5%
1880 14,910 265.4%
1890 22,894 53.5%
1900 21,963 −4.1%
1910 20,229 −7.9%
1920 17,984 −11.1%
1930 17,112 −4.8%
1940 15,921 −7.0%
1950 12,977 −18.5%
1960 10,739 −17.2%
1970 9,249 −13.9%
1980 8,543 −7.6%
1990 7,073 −17.2%
2000 6,483 −8.3%
2010 5,799 −10.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[6] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[7] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Thayer County, NEJefferson County, NEGage County, NEPawnee County, NEMarshall CountyPottawatomie CountyRiley CountyClay CountyCloud CountyRepublic CountyWashington, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Washington County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Washington and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Washington County Historical and Genealogical Society
216 Ballard St.
Washington, Kansas 66968
E-mail:wchgs31@hotmail.com
Website

The Washington County Historical and Genealogical Society has a website that contains contact information and a list of research resources held by the group. Although it is not specifically mentioned on the site, Society members will do research for a fee. An email detailing desired research will result in a cost estimate for the outlined research.

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Kansas" 9/13/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Kansas. Page 257 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 238.
  4. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Kansas" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 23 October 2017.
  6. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  8. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  10. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).