Washington County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Washington County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Washington County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 25, 1784
County Seat Sandersville
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse]
PO Box 271
Sandersville, GA 31082-0271
Phone: 912.552.2325 
Washington County Website


County Information

Washington County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Washington County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1865

1790
1865
1865

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
PO Box 271
Sandersville, GA 31082-0271
Phone: (912) 552-2325 

Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1865[1]

Washington County Superior Court
P. O. Box 231
132 W. Haynes Street
Sandersville, GA 31082
Main Office Number: (478) 552-3186
Fax Number: (478) 553-9969

Washington County Probate Court
132 W Haynes St # 106,
Sandersville, GA 31082
Phone: (478) 552-3304

History

Parent County

1784--Washington County was created 25 February 1784 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat: Sandersville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
War.jpg
1855 The town and courthouse at Sandersville burned on 24 March. The courthouse records were moved ahead of the fire, but that building was also destroyed. County courthouse records were a total loss.[3]

1864 During the American Civil War the courthouse was burned on 27 November. Superior Court records were destroyed; however, the probate records were saved.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baldwin  • Glascock  • Hancock  • Jefferson  • Johnson  • Warren  • Wilkinson

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

  • De Lamar, Marie. Records of Washington County, Georgia. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Washington, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Washington County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Mitchell, Ella. History of Washington County. Atlanta, Ga.: Byrd Print. Co., 1924. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Origins of Early Settlers to Washington County at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • Washington Notes by Jeannette Holland Austin at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Maps

Gawashington.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Washington County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company E
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company F
- 12th Battalion, Georgia Light Artillery (Confederate), Reorganized Companies B and E, Possibly Company D
- 12th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company B and F
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C and H
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B and D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1829-1876 - Washington County Letters of Administration, Testamentary, Guardianship, Book A, partial transcription (1829-1876) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1829-1876 - Washington County Divisions of Estates, Letters of Administration, Guardianship, Book A (1829-1876) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1829-1876 - Index to Washington County Letters of Guardianship and Apprenticeships, Vol. A (1829-1876) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1843-1890 - Index to Washington County Annual Returns, Book B (1843-1852), Book C (1851-1855), Book E (1856-1858), Book F (1858-1866), Book G (1866-1878), Book H (1878-1890) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1846-1862 - Index to Washington County Inventories, Vol. A, 1846-1862 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • Washington County Estates (Misc.) at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Washington County Historical Society
110 W. 1st Ave.
Sandersville 31082
Website

Washington Township Historical Society
308 E Robert Toombs Ave
Washington 30673-2038

Central Georgia Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 2024
Warner Robins, GA 31099
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 57-58. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.