Washington, United States Genealogy
Guide to Washington ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Washington Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Washington (disambiguation).
Washington Information[edit | edit source]
Washington is a state in the northwestern portion of the United States. It is divided into 39 counties and it's capital is Olympia. Washington was admitted to the Union as the 42nd state on 11 Nov 1889. It was created from Washington Territory. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Washington Research
Links to articles on getting started with Washington research.
Washington Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Washington research.
Washington Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Grays Harbor
- Pend Oreille
- San Juan
- Walla Walla
Washington Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Washington genealogy sites on the internet
- Washington Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Washington
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Washington
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Washington genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Washington
- Washington Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- The Washington State Genealogical Society has Resource Guides for most counties in the state of Washington.
- The Free Online Encyclopedia of Washington State History (History Link).
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.