Wasco County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Wasco County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wasco County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||January 11, 1854|
|County Seat||The Dalles|
|Address|| Wasco County Courthouse|
511 Washigton Street
The Dalles, Or 97058
Wasco County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Wasco County Information
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Biography
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church History and Records
- 5.5 Court Records
- 5.6 Gazetteers
- 5.7 History
- 5.8 Land and Property
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Migration
- 5.11 Military History and Records
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Probate Records
- 5.14 Rivers and Waterways
- 5.15 Taxation
- 6 Vital Records
- 7 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 8 Websites
- 9 Wasco County Oregon Genealogy References
The County was named for a local tribe of Native Americans, the Wasco, a Chinook tribe who lived on the south side of the Columbia River. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Wasco County, Oregon Record Dates
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1854.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records,
from 1854. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wasco County Court House as of August 2011.
Wasco County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at;
Wasco County Information
11 January 1854: Wasco county was created from Clackamas, Douglas, Jackson, Lane, Linn, and Marion Counties . Named for the Wasco (or Wascopam), a Chinook tribe on the south side. (Ore. Terr. Special Laws 1853, 5th reg. sess., pp. 26-27), 
14 January 1857: Gained very small area near the head of Eagle Creek and Bradford's Island from Multnomah [change too small to map]. (Ore. Terr. Laws 1856-1857, 8th reg. sess., pp. 78-79)
14 February 1859: Lost to Washington Territory when the United States created the state of Oregon from Oregon Territory. (U.S. Stat., vol. 11, ch. 33, secs. 1-2/pp. 383-384 Ore. Laws 1860, 1st reg. sess., pp. 28-30)
22 September 1862: Lost to creation of Baker. (Ore. Laws 1862, 2nd reg. sess., p. 112)
27 September 1862: Lost to creation of Umatilla. (Ore. Laws 1862, 2nd reg. sess., p. 91)
14 October 1864: Lost to creation of Grant. (Ore. Laws 1864, 3rd reg. sess., p. 43)
24 October 1874: Lost to creation of Lake. (Ore. Laws 1874, 8th reg. sess., pp. 38-41)
24 October 1882: Lost to creation of Crook. (Ore. Special Laws 1882, 12th reg. sess., p. 178)
16 February 1885: Lost to creation of Morrow. (Ore. Special Laws 1885, 13th reg. sess., pp. 239-243)
25 February 1885: Lost to creation of Gilliam. Creation left a small strip of Wasco County along the southeastern line of Gilliam which remained until gained by Gilliam County on 20 February 1891. (Ore. Special Laws 1885, 13th reg. sess., p. 404)
25 February 1889: Lost to creation of Sherman. (Ore. Laws 1889, gen., 15th reg. sess., p. 82)
19 February 1891: Lost more land to Sherman. (Ore. Laws 1891, gen., 16th reg. sess., pp. 68-69)
20 February 1891: Lost to Gilliam. The gain was a small strip that was inadvertently separated from Wasco County when Gilliam County was created on 25 February 1885. (Ore. Laws 1891, gen., 16th reg. sess., p. 76)
25 February 1895: Boundary with Multnomah adjusted within Section 22 of Township 2 North, Range 7 East [change too small to map]. (Ore. Laws 1895, 18th reg. sess., p. 88)
23 June 1908: Lost to creation of Hood River. (Ore. Laws 1909, gen., 25th reg. sess., ch. 5/pp. 39-43)
25 February 1925: Boundaries redefined [no change]. (Ore. Laws 1925, gen., 33rd reg. sess., ch. 108/p. 164)
13 September 1967: Redefined to substitute "boundary of the state" for middle of the main channel of the Columbia River. Approved by the Governor 19 June 1967, became effective 13 Sep 1967 [no change]. (Ore. Laws 1967, 54th reg. sess., ch. 421/pp. 930-931)
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Church History and Records
Land and Property
Wiki article describing online FamilySearch Historical collecton is found Oregon, Wasco County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Early migration routes to and from Wasco County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military History and Records
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. > Rivers and Waterways
Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Wasco County Historical Society
300 W 13th St
The Dalles, OR 97058
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Wasco County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Wasco County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Wasco County Oregon Genealogy References
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wasco, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasco_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wasco County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wasco County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasco_County,_Oregon, accessed 20 January 2019.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).