Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Warrick County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Warrick County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 9, 1813
County Seat Boonville
Courthouse
Address Warrick County Courthouse
107 W Locust Street
Boonville, IN 47601
Phone: 812.897.6160
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1819 1882 1813 1813 1813 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed 9 March 1813 from Knox County. [2]
  • County Seat: Boonville[3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Captain Jacob Warrick, an Indiana militia company commander killed in the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811. The county seat is Boonville and the county was organized on April 30, 1813. The County is located in the West Central part of the state.[4]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Spencer  • Dubois  • Pike  • Gibson  • Vanderburgh  • Henderson  • Daviess

Boundary Changes  [edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Warrick County, Indiana by Goodspeed are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 9,039
1830 13,064 44.5%
1840 15,269 16.9%
1850 17,040 11.6%
1860 17,909 5.1%
1870 18,495 3.3%
1880 18,955 2.5%
1890 18,619 −1.8%
1900 19,409 4.2%
1910 17,445 −10.1%
1920 16,645 −4.6%
1930 16,285 −2.2%
1940 17,008 4.4%
1950 16,520 −2.9%
1960 17,819 7.9%
1970 19,278 8.2%
1980 21,932 13.8%
1990 23,717 8.1%
2000 27,223 14.8%
2010 28,262 3.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.) FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Gibson CountyPike CountyDubois CountySpencer CountyVanderburgh CountyDaviess CountyHenderson CountyIN WARRICK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Warrick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warrick County.

1890 Census Veterans Schedules

The 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for Warrick County are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

Civil War Books

  • Haas, Garland A. 1997. To the mountain of fire and beyond: the Fifty-Third Indiana Regiment from Corinth to glory. (Carmel, Ind: Guild Press of Indiana.) 977.23 M2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries
  • "Military History" Chapter 7 in History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.), (page 92-112)FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Occupation[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Warrick County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records. Online Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records[edit | edit source]

Voter Registration[edit | edit source]
School Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Warrick County Courthouse
107 W Locust Street
Boonville, IN 47601
Phone: 812.897.6160

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. County Clerk has marriage records from 1819, divorce, court and probate records from 1813. County Records has land records. [6]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Warrick County Historical Society
PO Box 581
Boonville 47601-0581

Warrick County Museum, INC
217 S. First Street
Boonville, IN 47601
Telephone Number: 812-897-3100
E-mail: wcmuseum@wowway.biz
Website

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records[edit source]

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warrick County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County,_Indiana accessed 04/05/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County%2C_Indiana, accessed 15 January 2020.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warrick County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.