Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Warren County, New Jersey)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Jersey
Warren County

Warren County, New Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Warren County, New Jersey
Map
Map of New Jersey highlighting Warren County
Location in the state of New Jersey
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Jersey
Location of New Jersey in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 20, 1824
County Seat Belvidere
Courthouse
Address Warren County Courthouse
165 County Rd
519 South

Belvidere, NJ 07823
Phone: (908) 475-6211
Warren County Website



County Information

Warren County, New Jersey Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1830


Warren County, New Jersey Historical Facts

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.


Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Atlantic County, New Jersey

A Moravian settlement was established at Hope by 1769.[1]

Parent County

Created 20 November 1824, from Sussex County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NJGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NJGenWeb Archives
NJTombstone Project
NJInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.


Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Maps

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Periodicals

Poorhouse, Almshouse

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records

Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:

  • Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.

In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:

Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094

Online Probate Records

Repositories

Archives
Courthouse

Warren County Courthouse
165 County Rd; 519 South
Belvidere, NJ 07823
Phone: (908) 475-6211

Municipal Clerks have birth and death records. County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1825, divorce and court records. County Surrogate has probate records. [3]

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Warren County Historical and Genealogical Society
313 Mansfield Street
PO Box 313
Belvidere, NJ 07823
Telephone: 908-475-4246
Website

Warren County Cultural and Heritage Commission
8 Belvidere Avenue
Oxford, NJ 07863
Telephone: 908-453-4381
E-mail:r@wcchc.org
Website

Hackettstown Historical Society
106 Church St.
Hackettstown NJ
Telephone: 908-852-8797
Website

Phillipsburg Area Historical Society
675 Corliss Avenue
Phillpsburg, New Jersey 08865
Website

Schools

Taxation

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.


Warren County, New Jersey Websites

Warren County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties

Warren County


Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy References

  1. "A Forgotten Moravian Settlement in New Jersey," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 37 (1913):248-252. For free online access, see WeRelate.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.