To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Warren County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Warren County, Illinois)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Warren County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Warren County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Warren County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 13, 1825
County Seat Monmouth
Courthouse
Warren County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Warren County Courthouse
100 West Broadway
Monmouth, IL 61462
(309) 734-8592
Warren County Website


Warren County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1877 1833 1877 1825 1833 1825 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Warren County are kept, see the Warren County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Joseph Warren

Warren County is named for Joseph Warren who had a leading role in the American patriot organizations in the early days of the Revolution. He was a General in the war, but during the battle of Bunker Hill he fought as a private soldier and was killed during this engagement.[2]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1825--Warren County was created 13 January 1825 from Pike County.  County seat:  Monmouth [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Dr. Joseph Warren, killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill in 1775. He is believed to have been the first officer to die in the Revolutionary War. The county seat is Monmouth and the county was organized on 1825. The County is located in the West central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Records and Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Warren County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Warren County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Warren, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Warren county cemeteries.

  • Epodunk has a list of Warren County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190023,163
191023,3130.6%
192021,488−7.8%
193021,7451.2%
194021,286−2.1%
195021,9813.3%
196021,587−1.8%
197021,5950%
198021,9431.6%
199019,181−12.6%
200018,735−2.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners[edit | edit source]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Warren County on page 188.]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Abstracts

  • Parrish, Joyce W. United Brethern [sic] Ellison Circuit: includes Wassom Chapel (later, Sugar Grove); Roseville U. B. Mission, Fairview United Brethern (later, Fairview Center United Methodist). [Monmouth, Illinois] : Warren Co., Il. Geneal. Society, 1986. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.3415 K2p

Copies of Original records

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources Additional resources for Warren County court records may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

The Past and present of Warren County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, &c., a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, general and local statistics, map of Warren County, history of Illinois, Constitution of the United States, miscellaneous matters, etc., etc. Chicago: H.F. Kett & Co., 1877. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

  • Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Warren County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1903. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Warren County land and property may be found online in the FamilySearch Catalog and FamilySearch Catalog–maps. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Online Resources

Maps[edit | edit source]

Mercer CountyHenry CountyKnox CountyFulton CountyMcDonough CountyHenderson CountyIL WARREN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Warren County.

- 11th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies I and K.
- 12th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- 13th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 36th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 50th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, and K.
- 59th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 83rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, F, and H.
- 102nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A and C.

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington, Iowa newspapers dating back to the mid 1800's that may have included Warren County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.

Abstracts

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Warren County probates may be found in the Illinois, Warren – Probate and on Illinois, Warren – Probate record indexes topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Warren County are kept, see the Warren County Courthouse page.

Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Warren County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Warren County.

Public Libraries[edit | edit source]

Warren County Public Library District
62 Public Square
Monmouth, IL 61462
Telephone: 309-734-3166
Email: lgood@wcplibrary.org
Facebook

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Warren County Genealogical Society
PO Box 761
Monmouth, IL 61462-0761
Telephone Number: 309-734-2968

Warren County Historical Society
RR 2
Avon, IL 61415
Telephone Number: 309-465-3361
E-mail:info@warrencountyhistoricalsociety.net
website

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Warren County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births[edit | edit source]

Copies of Original Birth Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Copies of original Marriage Records


Online Resources

Deaths[edit | edit source]

Copies of original Death Records

Online Resources

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]

Additional resources for Warren County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records, the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records - indexes, and the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. Joseph Warren www.wikipedia.org
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Illinois 04/20/2017.