Warminster, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Warminster

Guide to Warminster, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warminster, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Warminster
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Warminster
Registration District Warminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556; Separate registers exist for Warminster St Lawrence beginning 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608-1609; 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

WARMINSTER (St. Denis), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Warminster, Warminster and S. divisions of Wilts, 21 miles (W. N. W.) from Salisbury, and 97 (W. S. W.) from London. Christ Church, to which a district has been assigned, was built in 1831. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Warminster St Denis parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Warminster St Denis Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1556-1894
1556-1906 (gaps)

IGI 1779-1895
NIM 1556-1840
1556-1837

Warminster St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Warminster St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1865-1880


Warminster St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Warminster St Lawrence Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1821-1858


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 470-475. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.