Warmfield, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Warmfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wakefield|
|Parish registers: 1595|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Warmfield with Heath|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WARMFIELD, or Kirkthorpe (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding, of York; containing, with Sharleston township, 1050 inhabitants, of whom 829 are in the township of Warmfield with Heath, 3½ miles (E.) from Wakefield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Warmfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WARMFIELD PARISH (1727) Online Records|
||1727-1837, 1843-1848, 1860-1862
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Warmfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Warmfield page.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1596.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 470-475. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.