Warcop, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Westmorland
Westmorland Parishes
Warcop


Guide to Warcop, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Warcop, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union East Ward
Registration District East Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westmorland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History

WARCOP (St. Columba), a parish, in East ward and union, county of Westmorland, 3 miles (W. by N.)from Brough, on the road to Appleby. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Warcop parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Warcop Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


JOIN

1538-1837


IGI 1581-1745, 1745-1870
1597-1870


FS Catalog PRs
1597-1934
1597-1934
1597-1934
FS Catalog BTs
1662-1870
1662-1870
1662-1870

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 461-464. Date accessed: 13 July 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk