To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wantage, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wantage, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wantage, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wantage, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wantage
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1582
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Canons of Windsor in Wantage; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WANTAGE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wantage, county of Berks. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Wantage parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wantage Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1538-1838
1542-1964
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


FREG 1538-1883
1538-1883


IGI 1538-1853,1690-1812,1691-1725,1765-1789,1832-1835
1538-1705,1705-1749,1749-1812,1813-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1952
1538-1952
1538-1952
FS Catalog BTs
1582-1836
1582-1836
1582-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wantage in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 457-461. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch