Walworth County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Walworth County

Guide to Walworth County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Elkhorn, WI
Organized: 1839
Parent County(s): Milwaukee County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Boone (IL)  • Jefferson  • Kenosha  • McHenry (IL)  • Racine  • Rock  • Waukesha
See County Maps
Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Walworth.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Reuben H. Walworth. The County has Elkhorn as its seat and the County was created April 12, 1839. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Walworth County Courthouse
100 W Walworth
PO Box 1001
Elkhorn, WI 53121
Phone: 262-741-4241
Walworth County Website

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1845, marriage and land records from 1839, death records from 1872, burial records from 1969, divorce and court records from 1850 and probate records from 1800s.[3]

Walworth County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1872 1839 1839 1839 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Walworth County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Walworth County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Walworth census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Heart Prairie Lutheran Church

  • Records of Heart Prairie Lutheran Church, Walworth County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Spring Prairie

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Spring Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI WALWORTH.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Walworth served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Walworth:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and L
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies C and I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Walworth Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Walworth Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Special Collections, Area Research Center, University Archives
    Anderson Library, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
    800 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 900
    Whitewater, WI 53190-0900
    Telephone: 262-472-5520
    Email: archives@uww.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Anderson Library, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
    Special Collections, Area Research Center, University Archives
    800 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 900
    Whitewater, WI 53190-0900
    Telephone: 262-472-5520
    Email: archives@uww.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Walworth County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 159
    Delavan, WI 53115-0159
    Phone: 608-752-8816
    Website
  • Walworth County Historical Society
    PO Box 273
    Elkhorn, WI 53121
    Website
  • Whitewater Historical Society
    275 N Tratt St
    Whitewater, WI 53190
    Phone: 262-473-2966
    Email: espenwell@gmail.com
    Website
  • East Troy Area Historical Society
    PO Box 722
    East Troy, WI 53120
    Phone: 262-642-9683
    Website
  • Geneva Lake History Buffs
    PO Box 522
    Lake Geneva, WI 53147
    Phone: 262-428-6060

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Walworth County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walworth_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.