Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of the Parishes and Chapelries in Walton-on the-Hill
|Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||West Derby|
|Registration District||Ormskirk; West Derby|
|Parish registers: 1587; Separate registers exist for Walton on the Hill Edge Hill beginning 1813 and for Walton on the Hill Stanley beginning 1832|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1625; Separate records exist for Toxteth Park St Michael in the Hamlet beginning 1815 and for Walton on the Hill Edge Hill beginning 1822 and for Walton on the Hill Stanley beginning 1832|
|Rural Deanery||Liverpool North|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WALTON-ON-THE-HILL St Mary, a parish, in the union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles north by east of Liverpool. The parish consists of the district chapelry of West Derby; the chapelries of Everton, Formby, and Kirkby; and the townships of Bootle with Linacre, Fazakerley, Kirkdale, Simonswood, and Walton. 
The town name 'Walton' may have been derived from the same origins as the country name 'Wales'. The Saxons called the earlier inhabitants of Briton (the Celtic Britons) the 'Walas' or 'Wealas'. Thus, Walton may have once been called 'Walas' town. Whatever the origins of the name, Walton is one of the oldest areas of settlement in Merseyside.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Walton on the Hill St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following websites and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|WALTON ON THE HILL ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1586) Indexes|
|EDGE HILL ST MARY Chapelry (1837) Indexes|
|BOOTLE ST MARY Chapelry (1848) Indexes|
|EVERTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1845) Indexes|
|EVERTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1847) Indexes|
|EVERTON EMMANUEL Chapelry (1867) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST PETER AND ST AMBROSE AND ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1849) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST AUGUSTINE Chapelry (1830) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST CHRYSOSTOM Chapelry (1853) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST CUTHBERT Chapelry (1877) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST GEORGE Chapelry (1814) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST PETER Chapelry (1850) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1866) Indexes|
|EVERTON ST TIMOTHY Chapelry (1868) Indexes|
|FORMBY ST PETER Chapelry (1620) Indexes|
|FS||1620-1641, 1663-1839||1620-1641, 1663-1855||None|
|KIRKBY ST CHAD Chapelry (1678) Indexes|
|LOPC||1678-1945||1678-1727, 1729-1753, 1756-1959||1678-1917|
|KIRKDALE ST MARY Chapelry (1835) Indexes|
|KNOTTY ASH ST JOHN Chapelry (1836) Indexes|
|STANLEY ST ANNE Chapelry (1***) Indexes|
|WALTON BRECK HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1849) Indexes|
|WEST DERBY ST JUDE Chapelry (1***) Indexes|
|LOPC||1830-1882, 1901-1908, 1915-1923||1865-1920||None|
|WEST DERBY ST MARY Chapelry (1681) Indexes|
|LOPC||1688-1707, 1813-1926||1698-1737, 1837-1947||None|
Original Records[edit | edit source]
The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Walton on the Hill St. Mary parish for the years 1586-1918. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 453-457. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 October 2013 .