Walton, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cumberland
Cumberland Parishes
Walton

Guide to Walton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walton, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

WALTON, a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 10½ miles, and 288 in Low Walton, 10 miles, (N. E. by E.) from Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Walton was in Brampton district. To search an index of Brampton district records go to FreeBMD. The Cumberland Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Walton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Walton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Walton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk