To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Walmer, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Walmer, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Walmer, Kent
Upper Walmer Old St Mary Kent.jpg
Upper Walmer Old St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Walmer is a town and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Walmer Wikipedia

Walmer Old St Mary was an Ancient parish and the original parish church of Walmer until the building of other parish churches in the town. The map of the parish boundary and Anglican churches of the town are available A church near you.The Church is also known as the church of the Blessed Mary of Walmer.

The church dates from 1120 and was extended in the 17th century and about 1826 but these parts of the building have not survived demolished during the work of 1898 to re-orientate the chancel.

The church was originally a chapelry to Walmer Court home of the d'Auberville family. During his residence as Lord of the Cinque ports and residence at Walmer Castle the Duke of Wellington attended the church. See Old St Mary's Church Walmer Wikipedia

The building of the new Walmer The Church of St Mary the Virgin,Kent  and St Saviour's St Saviou's Church Walmer Wikipedia lead to the parish church status ending.

The building is designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

See also Edward Hasted 'The liberty of the cinque ports (continued): Walmer', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 23-29 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Walmer Baptist Church dates from 1808.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Walmer St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Walmer Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Kent Census



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

WALMER (St. Mary), a parish, and a member of the cinque-port liberty of Sandwich, in the union of Eastry, locally in the hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (S.) from Deal. [2]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 444-449Date accessed: 22 May 2013.