Wallis and Futuna Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Wallis and Futuna Wiki Topics
Flag of France.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wallis and Futuna Background
Local Research Resources
Oceania
Wallis and Futuna
Guide to Wallis and Futuna ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Wallis and Futuna is an overseas collectivity of France in Oceania. The nearest islands are Tuvalu, Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, and Tokelau. The official language is French.[1]

History

Polynesians settled the islands that would later be called Wallis and Futuna around the year 1000 AD/CE, when the Tongan Empire expanded into the area.
Futuna was first put on the European maps in 1616. It is thought the French were the first Europeans to settle in the territory, with the arrival of French missionaries in 1837, who converted the population to Roman Catholicism.
On 5 April 1842, the missionaries asked for the protection of France after the rebellion of a part of the local population and on 5 April 1887, a treaty was signed officially establishing a French protectorate. The islands were put under the authority of the French colony of New Caledonia.
In 1959, the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory, effective in 1961, thus ending their subordination to New Caledonia.
[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Wallis and Futuna Research

Links to articles on getting started with Wallis and Futuna research.

Wallis and Futuna Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Wallis and Futuna research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Wallis and Futuna Map

Genealogy records are kept on the kingdom level in the Wallis and Futuna.

Kingdoms

Genealogy records are kept on the kingdom level in Wallis and Futuna. Click on a kingdom below to go to the kingdom Wiki article listing more information.

  • Uvea
  • Sigave
  • Alo

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Wallis and Futuna," in Wikipedia the free encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wallis_and_Futuna, accessed 20 April 2016.