Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wallingford|
|Parish registers: 1711|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
WALLINGFORD, a borough and market - town, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 15 miles (N. N. W.) from Reading, and 46 (W. by N.) from London. Wallingford comprises the parishes of All Hallows, St. Leonard, St. Mary-le-More, and St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of friends, Independents, Calvinists, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Wallingford, but the exact parish has not been identified.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Wallingford St Loenard in GENUKI