To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Waller County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Waller County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Waller County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Waller County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 28 April, 1873
County Seat Hempstead
Courthouse
TexasWallerCourthouse.jpg
Address Waller County Courthouse
836 Austin Street #217
Hempstead, Texas 77445-4667
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Waller County Courthouse
836 Austin Street #217
Hempstead, Texas 77445-4667
Phone: 979.826.7711 
Phone: 1-800-901-4412.

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate, court and land records from 1873[1]

County Clerk

836 Austin St.; Rm 217
Hempstead 77445
Phone: 979-826-7711

District Clerk

836 Austin St.; Rm 318
Hempstead 77445
Phone: 979-826-7735

There have been 4 courthouses in Waller County. The first courthouse was in a rented frame building. In 1877, the first brick courthouse was built, and was in use until it burned in 1892. In 1894, a new courthouse was built.  The 1894 courthouse served the county until it was demolished in 1954 after the current courthouse opened.

Waller County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1873 1903 1873 1873 1873 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903.
General compliance by the 1930s.


History[edit | edit source]

1821--The area was part of Stephen F. Austin's first colony, with the first settlement occurring around 1821.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1873--Waller County was created 28 April 1873 from Austin and Grimes Counties.

  • County seat: Hempstead [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Brookshire | Fields Store | Hempstead | Katy (part in Fort Bend County, part in Harris County) | Monaville | Pattison | Pine Island | Prairie View | Waller

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Austin  • Fort Bend  • Grimes  • Harris  • Montgomery  • Washington

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census
[edit | edit source]

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Waller County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Grimes CountyMontgomery CountyHarris CountyFort Bend CountyAustin CountyWashington CountyTX WALLER.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Waller County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records'

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Waller County Historical Society
PO Box 438
Waller, TX 77484-0438
http://www.wallercountyhistory.org/



Waller County Historical Museum
906 Cooper
PO Box 1548
Brookshire, TX 77423
Telephone Number: 281-934-2826
Website
Wednesday thru Friday - 10.00 AM to 4:00 PM
Saturday - 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Chaparral Genealogical Society
310 North Live Oak,
PO Box 606
Tomball, TX 77377-0606
Telephone Number:281-516-7417
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Waller County TXGenWeb site, maps, history and other information for Waller County.
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waller County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waller County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).