To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Walker County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Walker County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Walker County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Walker County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 26, 1823
County Seat Jasper
Courthouse
Walker County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Walker County Courthouse
1801 3rd Avenue
Jasper, AL 35501
Phone: (205) 384-7268
County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Walker County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1929 1877 1890 1877 1877 1877 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Records burned 1877
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after Senator John Walker, who represented the state of Alabama in the U.S. Senate from 1819 until 1822. The County has Jasper as its seat and the County was created December 26, 1823. [3]The County is located in the west central area of the state.[4]

History
[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1823--Walker County was created 26 December 1823 from Marion and Tuscaloosa Counties.
County seat: Jasper [5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Fire.png

Walker County had destructive courthouse fires in 1865, 1877, 1886, and 1932. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 29 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Alwalker

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Walker, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Walker county cemeteries.

  • Cemetery Records of Jefferson and Walker Counties, Alabama. Salt Lake City, Utah: The Society?, 1945. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Chicksaw Cemetery, Coal City Cemetery, Easley Cemetery, Fike Cemetery, Holly Grove Cemetery, King Family Cemetery, Manasco Cemetery, and New Hope Cemetery.
  • Additional Walker County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 3 at FamilySearch Digital Library - free.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18302,202
18404,03283.1%
18505,12427.1%
18607,98055.7%
18706,543−18.0%
18809,47944.9%
189016,07869.6%
190025,16256.5%
191037,01347.1%
192050,59336.7%
193059,44517.5%
194064,2018.0%
195063,769−0.7%
196054,211−15.0%
197056,2463.8%
198068,66022.1%
199067,670−1.4%
200070,7134.5%
201067,023−5.2%

For tips on accessing Walker County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Walker County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Walker County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.176 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Walker County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Dombhart, John Martin. History of Walker County: Its Towns and Its People. Thornton, Ark.: Cayce Pub. Co., c1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps[edit | edit source]

MarionWinstonCullmanBlountJeffersonTuscaloosaFayetteAL WALKER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military [edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Walker County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Walker County.

- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company K
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E, F and L
- 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H, I and K
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K, formerly Co. "?", 5th Battalion

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Alabama Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walker County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

  • Walking Back in Time. Publication of the Walker County Genealogical Society. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library: Vol. 15 | Vol. 16.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1847 - 1840's Walker County tax record, digitized by FamilySearch Digital Library - free.
  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Walker County is in District 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1797, 1812, 1823, 1829, 1877-1879, 1881-1882, 1884, 1886, 1888-1889, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1877-1889 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
  • 1892-1897 - "Walker County Marriages, Book C 1892-1897," Walking Back in Time, Vol. 15, No. 3 (Sep. 2004):49; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Dec. 2004):72-73; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Mar. 2005):9; Vol. 16, No. 2 (June 2005):17-18; Vol. 16, No. 3 (Sep. 2005):39-40; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Dec. 2005):62-63. Digital version of Vol. 15 at FamilySearch Digital Library; and Vol. 16 at FamilySearch Digital Library - both free.


Death Records[edit | edit source]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Walker County has two books:

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Walker County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 3408
Jasper, AL
35502-3408
Publication: Walking Back in Time

Libraries[edit | edit source]

The Carl Elliott Regional Library
205-221-2568
has the following libraries in Winston County:

Carbon Hill Public Library
215 2nd Street NW
Carbon Hill, Alabama 35549
Telephone: 205-924-4254
Jasper Public Library
98 18th Street East
Jasper, Alabama 35501
Telephone: 205-221-8512
Sumiton Public Library
416 State Street
P. O. Box 10
Sumiton, Alabama 35148
Telephone: 205-648-7451

Family History Center
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Center Locator

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Walker County, Alabama. Page 40 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 34.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Walker County p. 40. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Walker County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/walker/ 6/27/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Walker, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walker_County,_Alabama 6/27/2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 29. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Walker County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walker_County,_Alabama, accessed 26 October 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.