Wales Research Tips and Strategies
Jump to navigation Jump to search
|Wales Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Intermediate & Advanced Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
Research strategy pages to help you locate your Welsh ancestors.
Wales Research Tips[edit | edit source]
- Look in all censuses: Always look for your ancestor in every possible census. There are clues regarding immigration, naturalization, and occupation that can lead to other records. Sometimes parents can be found living with their children later in life. Search Wales Censuses.
- If a record collection does not include your ancestor, consider the possibility that the database is incomplete. Parish registers are very incomplete on both FamilySearch and Findmypast. A list of parish registers not published online is being created.
- Cemetery records (including burial records, monumental or memorial inscriptions), sometimes provide birth, marriage, death, and occupational information. They sometimes give clues to military service, residence, and cause of death. Cemetery Records.
Evaluation and Analysis[edit | edit source]
- Read the record carefully
- Interpret what the information says
- Analyze what you already know and compare it with what you learned from the new record. Always ask yourself:
- Is the information in the record consistent with what you already know?
- Does the information conflict with any information you have?
- Is there new information provided in the record?
- Draw conclusions from that analysis
- Use all the information you have collected and ask yourself, "What can I now conclude about this person or family?"