|Wales Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
|Source: 200 years of the Census in Wales|
A census is a count and description of a population. A census may list only selected persons (such as males between the ages of 16 and 45) or the whole population. The percentage of people listed varies with the purpose of the census and how carefully people were enumerated. Different civil and ecclesiastical authorities have taken censuses for their own purposes, which include:
- Population studies
- Military readiness (militia lists and so on)
- Taxes for relief of the poor (called "poor rates")
- Recording eligible voters (poll books)
FamilySearch research tutorial: England and Wales Census Records 1841-1911 Indexes
National Census[edit | edit source]
The national census records are especially valuable because they list nearly the entire population and are readily available at many repositories, including the Family History Library.
Using the national census is essential for Welsh genealogical research, especially in the industrial districts of south Wales, where most people were originally from a rural area. From 1851 onwards, census records give the parish of birth for each individual in a household.
The British government has taken censuses every ten years since 1801, except for 1941. The first census to list every person by name was taken in 1841. Earlier censuses contain only statistical information, but some parishes did compile lists of names while gathering information for the census, a few of which survive. See the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- WALES, [COUNTY], [PARISH] - CENSUS
A list of existing pre-1841 census records and other census records is found in both of the following books:
- Chapman, Colin R. Pre-1841 Censuses & Population Listings in the British Isles. 4th ed. Dursley, England: Lochin Publishing, 1994. (Family History Library 942 X27cc 1994.)
- Gibson, Jeremy, and Mervyn Medlycott. Local Census Listings 1522–1930: Holdings in the British Isles. Birmingham, England: Federation of Family History Societies (Publications) Ltd., 1992. (Family History Library book 942 X23gj.).
Census records less than 100 years old have been treated as confidential and not made available for searching by individuals. The "100 year rule" was introduced by government in 1966 but the "Freedom Of Information Act 2000" has been used to nullify this ruling. Therefore the government has decided to release the 1911 Census early, in 2009. However, the "1920 Census Act" specifically applies a 100 year rule to the 1921 and later censuses and early releases of these censuses are unlikely without change in legislation.
Census Dates[edit | edit source]
|1841||6 June||available now|
|1851||30 March||available now|
|1861||7 April||available now|
|1871||2 April||available now|
|1881||3 April||available now|
|1891||5 April||available now|
|1901||31 March||available now|
|1911||2 April||available now|
|1921||19 June||available from 1 January 2022?|
|1931||26 April||this census was destroyed during World War II|
|1939||29 September (National Registration)||available now at findmypast.|
|1941||no census taken owing to World War II||-|
|1951||8 April||available from 1 January 2052?|
|1961||23 April||available from 1 January 2062?|
|1971||25 April||available from 1 January 2072?|
|1981||5 April||available from 1 January 2082?|
|1991||21 April||available from 1 January 2092?|
|2001||29 April||available from 1 January 2102?|
|2011||27 March||available from 1 January 2112?|
Understanding the Census[edit | edit source]
The census office organized the census by civil registration districts, which were subdivided into enumeration districts. The only exception is the 1841, census which was arranged by hundreds (hundreds are administrative subdivisions of land). On the census films, each enumeration district includes a title page with the district number and a description of the area covered by the district. These registration districts crossed both county and national boundaries! For example the town of Llangollen, in the county of Denbighshire, was part of the Corwen registration district, even though Corwen was in the county of Merionethshire. Similarly, the town of Chirk, in Denbighshire, was in the Oswestry registration district, even though Oswestry was in the county of Shropshire in England.
Important: Several Welsh census records are lost! The Wales Missing Census Records Wiki article lists those missing census records and may identify possible census substitutes.
The 1841 censuses of upper Merthyr Tydfil and the entire parishes of Wrexham and Ruabon in the north-east are missing, as are many of the 1861 censuses. Sometimes, a lost census return is found and the Clwyd Family History Society have 'retrieved' parts of the Wrexham returns for 1841. Announcements about records that are found are usually given by a family history society journal for the area that is involved. See Wales Periodicals for information on locating a family history society journal. It is sometimes possible to locate another record that can substitute for a census. For example, part of the missing census for Merthyr Tydfil can be supplemented with the following record:
- Glamorgan Family History Society. Register of cottage leases, Dowlais Iron Company, 1818–1877. [Glamorgan, Wales]: Glamorgan Family History Society, [1996?]. (Family History Library book 942.97/D2 R2g.)
The 1841 census was taken on 7 June. Most of the later censuses were taken between 31 March and 8 April, every 10 years. Instructions were to list only those persons who spent the night in each household when the census was taken. Those travelling, staying at boarding schools, or working away from home are listed where they spent the night. For example, night watchmen are often listed at their employer’s business address rather than with their families.
You will find the following information in the censuses:
1841. This census lists each member of every household with their name, sex, address, occupation, and whether or not they were born in the county or out of the country. The census takers usually rounded the ages of those over 15 down to a multiple of 5 years. For example, a 59-year-old would be listed as 55.
1851 and later. These censuses list the names, ages, occupations, relationships to the head of the household, and parish and county of birth (except foreign births, which may give country only) of each member of the household.
1891 and later. These censuses also list the language spoken (English, Welsh or Both).
Census Forms and Worksheets
Census returns are arranged in columns. Column titles are:
- Place or street address
- Name of each person living in the abode on the night of the census
- Relationship to the head of the household
- Age and sex, arranged by males and females
- Profession, trade or employment
- Where born
- For examples of each census year's heading format in easy-to-read and enlargeable PDF form see:
- A generic census worksheet can be used to record information found in all census records. Or, forms for specific census years are available at Ancestry.com:
Searching Census Records[edit | edit source]
When searching census records, remember that:
- Ages may be incorrect.
- Given names may not be the same as the name recorded in church or vital records.
- Information may be incorrect.
- Names may be spelled as they sound.
- Place-names may be misspelled.
- If the family is not at the expected address, search the surrounding area.
- When you find your family in one census, search the earlier or later census records to find additional family members.
- Individuals missing from a family may be listed elsewhere in the census.
- Parts of the 1841 and 1861 censuses are faint and sometimes unreadable.
Surname indexes are available for select places for some census years. See the section on "Census Indexes" below.
In big cities, an address will help you find your ancestor in a census, especially where street indexes exist for the city.
The following sources may help you find an address:
- Old letters
- City, occupational, postal, or commercial directories
- Civil registration certificates of births, marriages, and deaths
- Church records of christenings, burials, and marriages
- Probate records
- Newspaper notices
- Court records
- Tax records
- Rate books
- Voting registers or poll books.
Locating Census Records[edit | edit source]
Pre-1900 original census records are at the Public Record Office (see Wales Archives and Libraries for an address). The National Library of Wales, most county record offices, the Family History Library and the Family Records Centre (see Wales Civil Registration- Vital Records for the address) have microfilm copies of the census records.
Missing pieces. Various parts of the England, Wales, and Scotland census returns from 1841 to 1911 are incomplete and have pieces missing. Find My Past has has identified the known gaps by census year, nation, county, and village or parish in Census for England, Wales and Scotland: missing pieces
Census Records at the Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of all of the government censuses from 1841–1891. The following work, commonly known as the Census Register, gives film numbers for each census year and is arranged by parish, town, village, or city:
- Index of Place Names Showing the Library Microfilm Numbers for the 1841–1891 Census Records of England, Wales, Channel Islands and Isle of Man. Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Library, 1992. (Family History Library book 942 X2pi; microfiche 6024509.)
The microfilm and microfiche numbers may also be found in the FamilySearch Catalog in the Place Search under:
- WALES, [COUNTY], [PARISH] - CENSUS
Population tables (see Wales Civil Registration- Vital Records) and other aids may help you pinpoint a location on the microfilm or solve unusual difficulties you may have in finding a locality on the census.
Census Indexes[edit | edit source]
Census indexes can reduce the time it takes to search a census. Some surname or street indexes exist for some areas.
Surname Indexes. Before you search the actual census, look for a surname index. There are many surname indexes for Welsh censuses. Most of these indexes have been produced by family history societies in Wales, and many are available at the Family History Library. The indexes vary in format and information. Some list surnames only, while others give complete transcriptions.
Before you use an index, make sure it covers the area you need. An index may cover part of a parish, a whole parish, a town, a sub-district, or a district.
Surname indexes produced in Wales give the Public Record Office reference, which usually includes a piece or bundle number. To convert the bundle number in the surname index to a Family History Library call number, use:
- 1841 Family History Library book 942 X22p 1841; film 599273
- 1851 Family History Library book 942 X23c
- 1861 Family History Library book 942 X2pib
- 1871 Family History Library book 942 X23cp
- 1881 Family History Library book 942 X22g; microfiche 6035786
- 1891 Family History Library book 942 X22i 1891
The FamilySearch Catalog lists surname indexes under:
- WALES, [COUNTY] - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
- WALES, [COUNTY], [DISTRICT] - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
- WALES, [COUNTY], [PARISH or TOWN] - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
You can also check the Census Surname Index Register (not cataloged typescript) at the Family History Library or click on the below links to see the Census Surname Indexes in this register book. (This register is not available at Family History Centers.)
To find surname indexes which may not be available at the Family History Library, look in:
- Gibson, Jeremy, and Elizabeth Hampson, eds. Marriage, Census and Other Indexes for Family Historians. 6th ed. Birmingham, England: Federation of Family History Societies (Publications) Ltd., 1996. (Family History Library book 942 D22m 1996.) This is an inventory of the indexes that are available for marriage, census and other helpful genealogical records. It is arranged by country and then by county.
1881 Census. There is a complete transcription and index on microfiche for the 1881 census returns of Wales. The index is also available on compact disc, with a partial transcription.
The index and transcription were produced through a joint effort of the Federation of Family History Societies and the Genealogical Society of Utah.
The compact disc version, 1881 British Census and National Index (50169), is available for purchase.
The microfiche version is available for use at the Family History Library, Family History Centers, and other record repositories (see Wales Archives and Libraries). The microfiche can be searched either nationwide or by county.
Within the nationwide index are two indexes:
- Surname Index (alphabetical by surname, then given name)
- Birthplace Index (alphabetical by birthplace, then surname)
Within each of the county indexes are seven sections:
- Surname Index (alphabetical by surname, then given name)
- Birthplace Index (alphabetical by surname, then birthplace)
- Census Place Index (alphabetical by surname, then census place)
- Census Record-as-Enumerated
- Miscellaneous Notes (alphabetical by surname, then given name)
- List of Vessels/Ships (alphabetical by ship’s name)
- List of Institutions (alphabetical by institution’s name)
See 1881 British Census Indexes (34933) and Using the 1881 British Census Indexes (34700) for additional information.
To locate the microfiche numbers for the 1881 census indexes, look in the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- [COUNTRY] - CENSUS - 1881 - INDEXES
- [COUNTRY], [COUNTY] - CENSUS - 1881 - INDEXES
Street Indexes. If you know the address at which an ancestor may have lived, a street index can help you quickly find your ancestor in the census. Street indexes are available for major cities in Wales.
You can also determine if a street index is available at the Family History Library by looking in:
- Register of Towns Indexed by Streets. Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Library, 1998. (Family History Library book 942 X22r 1999; microfiche 6026692.)
If the above register does not list the town or district you need for a particular year, look for a street index in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- WALES - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
- WALES, [COUNTY] - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
- WALES, [COUNTY], [CITY, PARISH OR DISTRICT] - CENSUS - [YEAR] - INDEXES
Online Census Indexes[edit | edit source]
- 1841-1911 census indexes are available at Wales Indexed Historical Records at FamilySearch
- 1841-1911 census indexes are available at Findmypast
- 1841-1911 census indexes are available at Ancestry.co.uk
- 1841-1911 census indexes are available at The Genealogist.co.uk
- 1901 census index available at National Archives
Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:
- England and Wales 1841 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales 1851 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales 1861 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales 1871 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales 1881 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales 1891 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales Census, 1901 - FamilySearch Historical Records
- England and Wales Census, 1911 - FamilySearch Historical Records
See also[edit | edit source]
External Links[edit | edit source]
- National Library of Wales
- UK Census Online Note that, despite the title, the website deal ONLY with English and Welsh census returns, and not Irish, Northern Irish or Scottish.
- The National Archives Note that, as above, the website only deal with the census of England and Wales (despite the use of the word "National"). The following is a list of census locations the website deals with:
- Channel Islands
- Ships in England and Wales
- From 1911 British soldiers posted overseas
Sources[edit | edit source]
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Research Outline: Wales (Salt Lake City: Corporation of the President, 2000), 13-17.
A Census for 1939. As a result of the National Registration Act in 1939, the civilian population was recorded. Each person was listed with data similar to the Census and assigned a number. Data can now be researched for deceased individuals (must be proven dead) for a non-refundable fee of 42 pounds sterling even if the search is unsuccessful. Article in Hel Achau, #105, June, 2010, page 45, Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h