Wales, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes S-Y
West Riding of Yorkshire
Wales

Guide to Wales, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Wales, Yorkshire
Wales St John the Baptist Rotherham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Worksop
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

WALES (St. John), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 10 miles (E. by S.)from Sheffield. [1]

Wales St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Rotherham district of South Yorkshire, created in 1723 from chapelry in  Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Norwood and Bedgralve, Kiveton Park, Kiveton, and Waleswood.

The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Wales South Yorkshire Wikipedia Kiveton Park Wikipedia

Neighboring Parishes

Beighton, Derbyshire Killamarsh, Derbyshire Harthill, Yorkshire Anston cum Membris, Yorkshire Todwick, Yorkshire Aston cum Aughton, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Cemeteries

Church Records

Wales parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wales Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Yorkshire Census

Parish Records

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1579.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue and the films in their collection. Wales

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire


Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 436-439. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk