To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wales, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wales, Erie ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Website: Town of Wales Cemeteries

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Wales, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

The town of Wales does not have a library but check out the Buffalo and Erie County Library System to locate the towns close to Wales that have public libraries.

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Town of Wales Historical Society[1]

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Wales, Clerk
Town Hall
12345 Big Tree Road
Wales Center, NY 14169
Phone: 716-652-0589
E-mail: townclerk@townofwales.com

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Jean Allen, Historian
Town Hall
12345 Big Tree Road
Wales Center, NY 14169
Phone: 716-652-3882
Brief History

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Wales, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). Archive.org; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).

Places[edit | edit source]