Walcot St Stephen, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Walcot St Stephen, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
To see and print out a list of all Bath Abbey's associated and attached chapels, and ecclesiastical parishes, view "A Comprehensive List of Bath Abbey's Chapels and District Chapels".
|Walcot St Stephen, Somerset|
|Poor Law Union||Bath|
|Parish registers: 1691|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WALCOT St Stephen, Lansdown was one of several chapels of ease standing within the parish boundary of Walcot St Swithin, and was built by the year 1845 to ease the large population demands in the ancient parish boundary. It was in the union of Bath, partly within the city of Bath, and partly in the hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset.
From the noted topographer Samuel A. Lewis, here's a mid-19th century historical perpsective:
"WALCOT (St Swithin), a parish, in the union of Bath, partly within the city of Bath, and partly in the hundred of Bath-Forum, east division of Somerset; containing 26,210 inhabitants. The parish includes those parts of the city lying on the north, north-east, and north-west sides of the parish of Bath St Michael; also some handsome ranges of buildings on the declivities of Lansdown and Beacon hills."
The parish of St Swithin, Walcot held ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the following chapels (including St Stephens):
- Kensington Chapel - 1795 (a district chapelry)
- St Mary's Chapel, Queen-square - 1735 (see also Bath Abbey)
- Walcot Avon Street Chapel - by 1825 (formerly a nonconformist chapel)
- Walcot All Saints, Lansdown Place - 1794
- Walcot Christ Church - 1798
- Walcot [Holy] Trinity Church, St James' Street - 1840 (a district chapel)
- Walcot St Stephen, Lansdown - 1845
- Walcot St Saviour - 1832
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Somerset Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed and adapted: 26 September 2013.