Wakefield St Andrew, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Wakefield St Andrew, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wakefield St Andrew, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wakefield|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Alverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S. W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. The district church dedicated to St. John, erected under a special act of parliament, at an expense of £10,000, in 1795, is finely situated in a spacious cemetery. Holy Trinity church was built at an expense of £4000, wholly by subscription. Two districts, named respectively St. Andrew's and St. Mary's, were endowed in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. 
Wakefield St Andrew Parish Records begin 1845 There no Bishops Transcripts
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Wakefield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Presbyterian Unitarian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wakefield St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wakefield St Andrew Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.