Wakefield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wakefield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  

Wakefield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Wakefield
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Alverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S. W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. The district church dedicated to St. John, erected under a special act of parliament, at an expense of £10,000, in 1795, is finely situated in a spacious cemetery. Holy Trinity church was built at an expense of £4000, wholly by subscription. Two districts, named respectively St. Andrew's and St. Mary's, were endowed in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. [1] Wakefield Holy Trinity Parish Records began 1843  Bishops Transcripts 1847 

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Wakefield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Presbyterian Unitarian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Wakefield Holy Trinity Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Yorkshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry Church of England (Early)-West Riding ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry Church of England (Late)-West Riding ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.