Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wakefield|
|Parish registers: 1613|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships ofAlverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S.W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. There are also places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, Roman Catholics and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. 
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Wakefield All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wakefield All Saints Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Non Conformist Churches
Nonconformist churches were in existence in Wakefield Township. These included the following ones as of 1848:
- Primitive Methodists
- Roman Catholics
- Society of Friends,
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Genealogy and History Websites
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.