Wainfleet All Saints, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Wainfleet All Saints, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wainfleet All Saints, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1677|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WAINFLEET (All Saints), a market-town, in the union of Spilsby, Marsh division of the wapentake of Candleshoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 39½ miles (E. S. E.) from Lincoln, and 128 (N. by E.) from London. It is believed that the town was formerly higher up the river, chiefly because the old church of All Saints, taken down in 1820, stood at High Wainfleet, about a mile and a half distant. The town comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Mary, and St. Thomas. The Society of Friends and the Wesleyans have places of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wainfleet All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wainfleet All Saints Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Wainfleet All Saints Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Links to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wainfleet All Saints
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.