Wagoner County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wagoner County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Wagoner County

Wagoner County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Wagoner County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Wagoner
Courthouse
OklahomaWagonerCourthouse.jpg
Address Wagoner County Courthouse
307 E. Cherokee Street
Wagoner, Oklahoma 74467
Phone: 918.485.2216


Wagoner County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


County Information

Wagoner County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1907 1907 1906 1907

County Courthouse

Wagoner County Courthouse
307 E Cherokee Street
Wagoner, OK 74467
Phone: 918.485-2216

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1908[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1907--Wagoner County was created 16 July 1907 from Cherokee Lands.
  • County seat: Wagoner [2]

Description

Wagoner County was created at 1907 statehood. [3] Wagoner County was named for Henry "Bigfoot" Wagoner. It is located in north east side of the state. [4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [5]

Cities
  • Bixby
  • Broken Arrow
  • Catoosa
  • Coweta
  • Tulsa
  • Wagoner (county seat)
Towns
  • Fair Oaks
  • Okay
  • Porter
  • Redbird
  • Tullahassee
Unincorporated communities
  • Choska
  • Clarksville
  • Gibson
  • Mallard Bay
  • Neodesha
  • Oneta
  • Rocky Point
  • Stones Corner
  • Taylor Ferry
  • Toppers
Former community
  • New Tulsa, Oklahoma - Dissolved in 2001. Now part of Broken Arrow.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Elmwood Elmwood - Bennett Addition Gibson Gipson Greenwood Jacob Morey Lincoln Memorial Park Pioneer Pleasant Valley Vernon

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 22,086
1920 21,371 −3.2%
1930 22,428 4.9%
1940 21,642 −3.5%
1950 16,741 −22.6%
1960 15,673 −6.4%
1970 22,163 41.4%
1980 41,801 88.6%
1990 47,883 14.5%
2000 57,491 20.1%
2010 73,085 27.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Wagoner County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wagoner County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps

Wagoner County, OK

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wagoner County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Three Forks Genealogy Society
102 S. State St.
Wagoner, OK 74467
E-mail:threeforksgen@gmail.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wagoner County, Oklahoma. Page 562 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/wagoner/hist_county.html accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wagoner_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Wagoner County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wagoner_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.