To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wabash County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wabash County, Illinois)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wabash County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wabash County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Wabash County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: December 27, 1824
County Seat Mt. Carmel
Courthouse
Wabash County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Wabash County Courthouse
401 Market Street
P.O. Box 277
Mt. Carmel, IL 62863
(618) 262-4561


Wabash County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1877 1857 1877 1857 1857 1857 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Wabash County are kept, see the Wabash County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Wabash County is named for the Wabash River which is the English spelling of the French name "Ouabache." French traders named the river waapaahsiiki, a Miami Indian name for the river.[2]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1824--Wabash County was created 27 December 1825 from Edwards County.  County seat:  Mount Carmel [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Wabash River.[4] The county seat is Mount Carmel and the county was organized on May, 1826. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1857 A fire burned the courthouse on 5 April, destroying most of the records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Wabash County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Wabash County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Wabash, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Wabash county cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190012,583
191014,91318.5%
192014,034−5.9%
193013,197−6.0%
194013,7244.0%
195014,6516.8%
196014,047−4.1%
197012,841−8.6%
198013,7136.8%
199013,111−4.4%
200012,937−1.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners[edit | edit source]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Wabash County on page 188.]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1819–1860 Barney's Prairie Christia Church records FHL film 7694

Catholic[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch has made parish records from two Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Wabash County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:

Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Wabash County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Wabash County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources and the Family History Library.

Copies of original records

Abstracts

Online Resources

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Wabash County land and property may be found online in the FamilySearch Catalog. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ilwabash.jpg

Military[edit | edit source]

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Shelby County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Shelby County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Wabash County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Wabash County.

- 40th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Wabash County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theEIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Wabash County probates may be found in the Illinois, Wabash – Probate, and on the Illinois, Wabash – Probate newspapers topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Wabash County are kept, see the Wabash County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

There are over 4500 Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors. Some microfilm and microfiche may be available at local family history centers. Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website. Call ahead to verify operating hours. All are welcome.

The following centers are accessible to residents of Wabash County, Illinois:

Evansville Indiana Family History Center
8020 E Covert Ave
Evansville, Vanderburgh, Indiana
Phone: 812-471-0191
Hours: First Wednesday of every month 10:00 - 12:00, Tues & Wed evening 6:00 - 8:00; other times by appointment
Closed: Closed Major Holidays

Vincennes Indiana Family History Center

1940 N Old Hwy 41
Vincennes, Knox, Indiana
Phone: 812-882-4022
Hours: T, Thu 9am-12:30pm, 5pm-8:30pm
Closed: Closed 1 1/2 weeks for Christmas

Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]

The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments.  Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts.  The records of Wabash County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093

Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Mt. Carmel Public Library
727 Mulberry St.
Mt. Carmel, IL 62863
618-263-3531

HOURS
Mon-Thu: 11am-7pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5:30pm
Sun: 1pm-5:30pm

Museums[edit | edit source]

Wabash County Museum (Burkett House)
Physical Address:
119 W. 3rd St (in the Burket House)
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 512
Mt. Carmel, IL 62863

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Wabash County Historical Society
PO Box 911
Mt. Carmel, IL 62863

Wabash Genealogical Society
Nancy Rayborn
102 Park Lane
Allendale, IL 62410


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Wabash County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Wabash County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births[edit | edit source]

Copies of Original Records

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Copies of Original Records

Online Resources

Deaths[edit | edit source]

Copies of Original Records

Online Resources

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]

Additional resources for Wabash County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Wabash – Vital Records, topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Databases pertinent to Wabash County

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wabash County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. Wabash River www.wikipedia.org
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Wabash County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wabash_County,_Illinois 04/20/2017.
  5. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Wabash County, Illinois Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ill/wabash/ accessed 04/20/2017.