Württemberg, German Empire Genealogy
Guide to Württemberg, German Empire ancestry, family history, and genealogy before 1945: birth records, marriage records, death records, both church and civil registration, compiled family history, and finding aids.
|Württemberg Major Record Types|
|Reading the Records|
|Additional Württemberg Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
|Germany Record Types|
Historical Background[edit | edit source]
- The Kingdom of Württemberg (German: Königreich Württemberg) was a German state that existed from 1805 to 1918, located within the area that is now Baden-Württemberg.
- The kingdom was a continuation of the Duchy of Württemberg, which existed from 1495 to 1805. Prior to 1495, Württemberg was a County in the former Duchy of Swabia (Schwaben).
- As Germany underwent violent revolution near the end of World War I, the Kingdom of Württemberg was transformed from a monarchy to a democratic republic (the Free People's State of Württemberg) without bloodshed; its borders and internal administration remained unchanged.
- In 1933, Württemberg and all other German states were abolished, in spirit if not in law. It was merged briefly into the "gau" of Württemberg-Hohenzollern.
- After World War II, Württemberg was split between the US and French Allied Occupation Zones in Germany and became parts of two new states: Württemberg-Baden (run by the Americans) and a smaller Württemberg-Hohenzollern (run by the French.)
- These two states were merged with Baden in 1952 to form the modern German state of Baden-Württemberg.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Germany Research
Links to articles on getting started with German research:
Germany Research Tools
Links to tools and websites that assist in German research:
Historical Geography[edit | edit source]
During the German Empire
Finding Birth, Marriage, and Death Records for Württemberg[edit | edit source]
Most of the information you need to identify you ancestors and their families will be found in two major record groups: civil registration and church records. To locate these records, follow the instructions in these Wiki articles.
1. Find the name of your ancestor's town in family history records.[edit | edit source]
Records were kept on the local level. You must know the town where your ancestor lived. If your ancestor was a United States Immigrant, use the information in the Wiki article Germany Finding Town of Origin to find evidence of the name of the town where your ancestors lived in Germany.
- Auswanderungen, 1500-1819.
- Neue Beiträge zur Auswanderung nach Amerika im 18. Jahrhundert aus Altwürttembergischen Kirchenbüchern unter Hinzuziehung anderer Quellen. The Gerber lists. Emigrants in 18th century listed in church books and other sources.
- Auswanderungsgesuche und Auswanderungen, 1799-1898
- Wuerttemberg, Germany Emigration Index, ($). late 1800's-1900's. Index. Incomplete.
- Auswanderung aus Südwestdeutschland, Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, 1751-1920. Index.
- Familienurkunden Auswanderer und Familien aus Bessarabien. Copies of original documents, pedigrees, and other certificates of migration, emigration and documentation for those leaving Bessarabia and entering Germany, 1940-1941.
- Reisepässe und Visum, 1845-1920. Passport and visa applicants recorded at the passport office in Stuttgart, Württemberg, Germany. Includes names, birth dates and places, dates of application, and intended destination.
- Jewish emigration from Württemberg to the United States of America, names list begins on page 253. FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Blackforest emigrant database
- Emigrants from Gechingen
- Emigrants from Neuhausen ob Eck
- Emigrants from Odenheim
- Emigrants from Schwaikheim
- Emigrants from Verrenberg
- Emigrants from Grafschaft Wertheim
Emigration Records by District[edit | edit source]
2. Use gazetteers and/or parish register inventories to learn more important details.[edit | edit source]
Your ancestor's town might have been too small to have its own parish church or civil registration office. Find the location of the Catholic or Lutheran (Evangelical) parish that served your ancestor's locality. Find the name of the civil registration office (Standesamt) that serves your ancestor's locality. Use the Wiki article Finding Aids For German Records for step-by-step instructions.
Germany was first unified as a nation in 1871. An important gazetteer, Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, "Meyer's Gazetter" for short, details the place names of villages, towns, counties (kreise), and higher jurisdictions used at that time. In the Research Wiki, FamilySearch Catalog, and FamilySearch Historical Records, the records of Germany are organized using those place names.
You can also consult Württemberg Parish Record Inventories to learn the Lutheran or Catholic parish that would have kept records for your town.
At the end of both World Wars, the boundaries of the states were changed dramatically, as areas of Germany were distributed among the Allied nations. Eventually, after re-unification in 1990, the states of Germany settled into what they are today. It is also necessary to understand Germany by this system, as it affects the locations of civil registration offices, archives, and mailing addresses used in correspondence searches.
3. For birth, marriage, and death records after 1 January 1876, use civil registration.[edit | edit source]
Follow the instructions in Württemberg, German Empire Civil Registration.
4. For baptism, marriage, and death records, use church records or parish registers.[edit | edit source]
Follow the instructions in Württemberg, German Empire Church Records.
More Research Strategies and Tools[edit | edit source]
- Germany Online Classes and Tutorials
- Reading German Handwritten Records Practice exercises to build your skills and confidence.
- Old German Script Transcriber (alte deutsche Handschriften): See your family names in the script of the era. Type your name or other word into the font generator tool. Click on the 8 different fonts. Save the image to your computer and use it as you work with old Germanic records.
- Finding Aids for German Records
- Research Tips and Strategies
- Print these handouts for ready reference when reading German Handwriting:
- Kurrent Letters Handout
- Numbers Handout
- Birth Records Handout
- Marriage Records Handout
- Death Records Handout
- Days and Months Handout
- Common Symbols Handout
- Common Abbreviations Handout
- List of Names in Old German Script A comprehensive list of German given names, written in old script, with possible variations.
- Fraktur Font--Many forms and books are printed in this font.
- German Research, BYU Independent Study, no cost.