Volstrup Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Volstrup

Guide to Volstrup, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Volstrup Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Volstrup Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Børglum
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Dronninglund
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 11
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 41
1870 – Udskrivningskred Lægd number 5/465
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Agerledet

Bajensgaard, Bakhus, Bakkehus, Bakkely, Birkmose, Bjergager, Boholt, Bouet, Broen, Bøgestedet

Dalgaard, Danskgaard, Dyrheden, Dyrheden Skov

Engholm, Eskehøj

Fuglsang, Faarhøj

Gadensgaard, Gedebjerg, Gedebjerg Huse, Godthaab, Granhøjgaard, Gravensten, Graverhus, Grønhede, Grønhede Aa, Gunhildsbro

Haven, Havlund, Heden, Hedevang, Hestehøj, Holmegaard, Holtet, Hovmose, Hybholt, Hytten, Hytten Skov, Højstedgaard, Højstrup

Kielstrup, Kielstrup Mark, Kirkebakke, Kirstinelund, Knæverhede, Knæverhede Hede, Kraftet, Kragelund, Kristiansminde, Krættrup, Krættrup Fattiggaard, Kæret, Kærsgaard, angagergaard

Langdal Høj, Langtved, Ledet, Lille Birkmose, Lille Grønhede, Lille Hybholt, Lille Ingsbjerg, Lille Kongsted, Lille Toftlund, Lille Ørtoft, Lundergaard, Læsøgaard

Magtesløs, Meller Solsbæk, Mellergaard, Memhave

Nyholm, Nørre Krættrup, Nørre Solsbæk, Nørregaarde, Nørvang

Ottestrup

Porsmose, Præstegaardsmark, Pølsehøj

Ranja, Ravnhøje, Riskær Bæk, Rolykke, Rosenlund, Røllen, Rønbrogaard, Rønholt

Sigen, Sivsig, Skovhøj, Skovlund, Skovsgaard, Skrolhøj, Skythuset, Skølstrup, Smedegaard, Solsbæk, Stenbjerg, Stenshede, Stidsholt, Stidsholtgaard, Store Grønhede, Store Hybholt, Store Ingsbjerg, Store Toftlund, Store Uggerholt, Store Ørtoft, Sulbæk, Syvsten, Sæby, Sæbygaard, Sæbygaard Avlsgaard, Sæbygaard Skov, Sæbygaards Mølle, Sæby Søndermark, Sæby Aa, Sølyst, Sønder Grønhede, Sønder Krættrup, Sønder Solsbæk, Søndergaard, Sønderheden

Tamholt, Tingbakke, Toftlund, Torntvedens Høje, Torsholm, Tushøj

Uggerholt

Vejlbæk, Vestergaard, Vester Keldstrup, Vester Knæverhede, Vestmark, Vester Solsbæk, Virkelyst, Volstrup, Volstrupbro, Volstrup Bæk, Volstrupgaard, Volstrup Hede

Ændrikken

Ødegaard, Øksenhede, Øksenvad, Ørheden, Ørnedalen, Ørnholt, Ørtoft, Ørtoft Hede, Øster Birkmose, Øster Knæverhede

Aabogaard, Aagaard

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Albæk, Hørby, Karup, Sæby, Vesterø, Understed

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.