To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Volda Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Volda, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Volda Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Volden
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Volden
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Søndre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Volda clerical district contains church records for Volda clerical district which includes the following parishes: Volda (Volden) with Austefjord chapell and Dalsfjord. Austefjord chapell was established in 1881 and Dalsfjord in 1910. It also included Ørsta parish until 1900, Vanylven and Syvde until 1741, and Hjørundfjord until 1751.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1714-1932.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Volda: 1731-1720, 1741-1832

Volda / Dalsfjord: 1910-1938

Volda / Volda: 1781, 1831-1932

Volda / Ørsta: 1781, 1831-1889

Ørsta / Vartdalstranda: 1878-1912

Ørsta / Ørsta: 1883-1941

Hjørundfjord: 1733-1941

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Volda clerical district was kept by the local civil authorities and includes the parishes of Volda, Dalsfjord, Vartdal and Ørsta. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Volda clerical district was kept by the local parish priest and includes the parishes of Volda, Ørsta, Vanylven, Hjørundfjord and Syvde. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archvies).
  • Manntall 1701 The 1701census for Voldaclerical district includes the parishes of Volda and Ørsta and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntall 1701: This 1701census for Gryttenclerical district includes the parishes of Volda, Grytten, Eide, Hen and Kors and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.   Also available online at Digitalarkviet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Volda clerical district includes the parishes of Volda, Dalsfjord and Ørsta. It is available on microfilm at the Family History Library as well as online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1519 Volda. Index to the 1865 census for Volda available on microfiche at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Volda clerical district includes the parishes of Volda, Ørsta and Dalsfjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellinga 1875 for [nr.] 1519 Volda. Index to the 1875 census for Volda available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Årviknes, Per, Volda-soga : gardar og slekter, Volda : Volda Trykkeri, 1970-1973. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Volda in Møre og Romsdal county. With an index in vol. 3. FHL 948.35/V5 D2a Farm name indexes to volumes 1 - 3 are found in the following links. File:948.35-V5 D2a v1 - VOLDASOG.pdf, File:948.35-V5 D2a v2 - VoldaSog2.pdf, File:948.35-V5 D2a V3 - VOLDASOG 3.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

133 Aamelfot indre, 134 Aamelfotdalen, 135 Aamelfotsæteren, 42 Aarset, 98 Aarvik, 98 Aarviknes, 111 Aasebøen, 69 Aaselid, 36 Aasen, 141 Aksnes, 140 Aksnessæteren 43 Aurstad,

2 Birkenes, 126 Birkestølen, 6 Birkevik, 91 Bjørkedal nordre, 112 Bjørnenakken, 86 Bjørneset, 73 Botnen, 21 Bratteberg, 109 Brenne, 128 Brune, 57 Bueidet,

121 Dalberg, 129 Dale indre, 122 Dale ytre, 71 Djupvik, 147 Dravlaus Liden, 144 Dravlaus Lillebøen, 145 Dravlaus Reite, 148 Dravlaus Viken, 146 Dravlaus indre, 149 Dravlaus ytre, 22 Drivklep,

53 Eide ,5 Eideim, 7 Eikreim, 94 Eiseflot, 130 Eisset, 117 Ekornberg, 13 Ekset, 63 Engeberg, 18 Engeset, 35 Ervik, 159 Espenakken,

157 Feten,103 Flote indre, 106 Folkestad indre, 113 Folkestadaasen, 108 Folkestadreite, 23 Fremmerlid, 34 Furnes, 89 Fylsvik, 47 Førde, 48 Førdesreite,

45 Gjeitvik ,62 Gjersdal, 163 Gjøsdal, 31 Greivsnes, 154 Grøthol,

10 Haaskoll fremre, 77 Haavik, 19 Halkelsvik, 9 Hasskoll midtre, 128 Haukaasen, 92 Helset, 20 Heltne, 125 Hesteflote, 38 Hjarthaug, 37 Hjarthaugreite, 50 Hjellbakke, 127 Hjelle vestre, 60 Hjelle østre, 26 Hoggen, 70 Hollsvik, 105 Holte, 32 Homborset, 39 Hundnes, 64 Høibakke, 80 Høidal indre, 84 Høidal ytre, 81 Høidalsdalen, 85 Høidalsnes, 165 Høistølen,

139 Inselset,

55 Kaldvasvik, 56 Kaldvatn nordre, 59 Kaldvatn søndre, 96 Kile, 17 Klep, 110 Kongsvold, 166 Koppen, 27 Kriken, 101 Krumsvik lille, 151 Kvangarsnes, 19 Kvernebakken,

61 Langenes, 52 Langvatn, 30 Leitet, 46 Leitet, 14 Liaskaret, 4 Lid indre, 87 Lillebotnen, 123 Lillebøen, 129 Lilleneset, 142 Lyngnes, 74 Løfold, 115 Løndal, 155 Løndal, 93 Løset, 143 Løvik,

54 Maana, 100 Mek lille, 12 Mork lille, 137 Morstølen,

156 Nakken, 119 Nautvik indre, 118 Nautvikstranden, 25 Nedrelid, 51 Nes, 16 Norddal,

49 Orsnes ,58 Osdal,

124 Rangsæteren, 27 Rotevatn, 30 Rotset, 120 Rødsetvik, 116 Rønstad, 83 Røsten,

41 Selvik, 68 Skare, 72 Skinvik, 150 Skrubbenes, 76 Slaattelid, 114 Sollid, 131 Steinsvik, 162 Stigen, 88 Storebotnen, 44 Storenes, 15 Strand, 138 Stranden, 97 Strømme,65 Sundal, 67 Sundalsaasen, 66 Sundalsfolden, 75 Svarthammer ,153 Sæteraasen, 152 Sætre, 90 Søvik,

164 Tilset, 164 Tilsetbakken, 161 Torvik, 24 Tømmerbakken,

40 Ulleland, 160 Ulvestad, 158 Ulvestadhaugen,

132 Vasbakke, 28 Vasbotnen, 33 Vasstein, 167 Velsvik, 79 Vike, 78 Vikestranden,

1 Yksnøen,

82 Ødegaard, 29 Øren

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1799-99: Probates are found in Søre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names