Villa Canales, Guatemala, Guatemala Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Municipality of Villa Canales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- Villa Canales was known during the colonial era as an old town, the community was formed by Santa Inés Petapa and San Miguel Petapa, settled in the pre-Hispanic community of the Poqoman language.
- After the conquest of Guatemala, the catechization of the Indians was the focus of the Spanish crown. The congregations founded by the royal missionaries in the New World were called "doctrines of Indians."
- The new municipality of Pueblo Viejo was formed on June 3, 1912.
- In 1915 the name of the municipality was changed to "San Joaquín Villa Canales.
- In 1920 the municipality began to be called simply «Villa Canales.
- The department of Amatitlán was abolished in 1935 and Villa Canales passed into the jurisdiction of the department of Guatemala.
- The municipality of Villa Canales has a population of approximately 78,000 people
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Registros civiles, 1912-1940 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Registros parroquiales : 1914-1937 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- There are no records for only the municipality of Villa Canales. See the records of neighboring municipalities.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Municipal de Villa Canales
- Cementerio Boca del Monte
Localities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Villa Canales," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Villa_Canales. Visited 19 July 2017.