Victoria, Australia Genealogy
Guide to Victoria, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Victoria Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Background Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Victorian Research[edit | edit source]
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
In Victoria there are 79 councils that provide local government for a specific geographical area within the State. These local councils are considered a separate tier of government in addition to Federal and State governments.
In Victoria, councils are established and operate under various State Government laws, including the Constitution Act 1975 and the Local Government Act 1989.
These councils vary in geographical size and population. They are responsible for providing and maintaining public buildings, and services to their communities. They do not produce vital records. See the following link for a list of the respective local councils.
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- 1839-1923 - Australia, Victoria, Inward Passenger Lists, 1839-1923 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850-1988 - Australia, Victoria, Tombstone Transcriptions from Various Cemeteries, 1850-1988 at FamilySearch — index
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
The State Library of Victoria has published several family history research guides covering adoption, beginners, ships, WW1 soldiers and more.